Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [SOLVED] I am new to home networks

  1. #1
    doodles Guest

    Default [SOLVED] I am new to home networks

    Just installed my first wireless router, Netgear 3500, to set up a network with my desktiop and a new laptop. It seems to be working fine...the laptop is on the Internet. Have not tries any file sharing yet.

    My question is how should ZA be configured for this new wireless router? ZA has not detected any new wireless network on my desktop or laptop...the only network in ZA is 192.168.1.XXXXX...I believe this is my cable modem LAN, which I have in the TRUSTED ZONE set at medium security (can someone confirm that this is set properly also).

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: I am new to home networks

    Sounds like you are doing fine as it is. 192.168.X.X. suggests that you have rather a router connected or a modem doing NAT.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    doodles Guest

    Default Re: I am new to home networks

    Thanks Fax...what is NAT exactly?

    So I guess you are saying I don't need to have my wi-fi detected by ZA? The ZA manual states:

    Setting wireless network security options
    Automatic wireless network detection helps you configure your Internet Zone to ensure
    that you computer remains secure without being interrupted each time a new wireless
    network is detected.

    Why is it not happening and why is it not needed? Was my wireless router put in the TRUSTED zone automatically? Is this wise? Very confused.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: I am new to home networks

    Hi!
    here the explanation on NAT:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Network...ss_translation
    In very basic words a sort of mini firewall.

    The device will translate all incoming call into re-directable calls in the lan. It filters the internet communications. A sort of mini firewall. This address is not reachable from the outside. This is why it is generally safe to set it as trusted especially if you want to share resources (files, printers, etc) with other elements in the lan.

    Is the new device phisically connected to your PC? Do you wirelessly connect to this device?

    Sorry really difficult to understand your setup from remote

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    doodles Guest

    Default Re: I am new to home networks

    Fax

    it is just a typical home network

    http://www.optimum.com/images/right_...me_network.gif

    I put a wireless router between my cable modem and my PC...then connected the laptop wirelessly. ZA should detect a new wireless network, no?

  6. #6
    doodles Guest

    Default Re: I am new to home networks

    OK...I think I know what happened...I had the laptop set to "Include Networks in trusted Zone Upon Detection"...so it never alerted me. On the laptop, the network has a little wireless icon...the desktop knows nothing about the wireless connection, nor should it.

    I did change the setting to "Ask which zone to place networks in upon detection" on both PCs...for when I take the laptop onto public networks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: I am new to home networks

    OK.. issued resoved....

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Solved] ZA 9.1.507.000 and Windows Update in XP Home: Problem
    By ananda in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 9th, 2010, 07:57 AM
  2. security from networks
    By htalk in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 18th, 2007, 10:23 AM
  3. How do I block other "available networks" ?
    By nidboy in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 17th, 2007, 03:29 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 13th, 2006, 01:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •