Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Access to Programs in ZoneAlarm

  1. #1
    decij Guest

    Default Access to Programs in ZoneAlarm

    My desktop has a version of ZoneAlarm that allows me to see which programs are permitted to access the Internet. My laptop version of ZoneAlarm doesn't show the programs that are allowed and blocked. ZA is blocking Firefox (Version 6, I believe on a Windows XP computer, Service Pack 3). How can I get ZA to give access to Firefox on the laptop? I know this is the problem because I disabled ZA and Firefox was given access.

    Thanks,

    JD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Access to Programs in ZoneAlarm

    Try a reset...

    1.) Hold down the Ctrl and Shift keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock
    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system
    6.) Follow the on screen configuration prompts after reboot

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    decij Guest

    Default Re: Access to Programs in ZoneAlarm

    Guru,

    Thanks a lot for your tip. It worked. However, would still like to get the menu that I have on my desktop. The help file discusses the program menu (where you can check and uncheck programs), but I see no way to access it on my laptop. Can't imagine why the program seems so stupid on my laptop and so functional on my desktop.

    Thanks,


    JD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Access to Programs in ZoneAlarm

    So, firefox issue has been solved but you don't still see anything under ZA program control?
    Correct?

    I could only suggest a full removal of ZA free with the ZA removal tool and then re-download the installer from here and install. Be careful on hlep files they may explain features of other ZA products (retail versions).

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; August 6th, 2010 at 12:38 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. can only find zonealarm in uninstall programs, no internet access
    By sedibble in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 18th, 2008, 12:47 PM
  2. ZoneAlarm claims that strange programs are requesting Internet access
    By will_pittenger in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 8th, 2008, 03:59 PM
  3. Why ZoneAlarm 8 letting programs access internet by itself!!!
    By birdy in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2008, 02:27 PM
  4. Can't access programs with ZoneAlarm active
    By dobergirl in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 17th, 2007, 07:55 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 8th, 2005, 12:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •