Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [WORKAROUND] Also Found new network --> Remove Third Party Utilities

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    jimll Guest

    Thumbs up [WORKAROUND] Also Found new network --> Remove Third Party Utilities

    Running Free version. In the last week or three it started popping up a notice saying "Found new network," several times a day or week, which it has never done before in several years. When I click to ignore it, it pops up another demand for info on the non-existent network which popup cannot be ignored, closed or gotten rid of short of shutting down the machine - then it may do it again. I have no network. I've already done the "reset cure" with no effect.

    Is this a bug in the latest update?

    JimLL

  2. #2
    jealousmonk Guest

    Default Re: Also Found new network

    I'm having this issue too. I rebooted my router and repaired the wireless network connection for my laptop and a ZA window popped up informing me that a new network was being added. Its ip is 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0. I set it to "internet zone."

    I then checked my desktop and saw there was an identical entry set to "trusted zone."

    On both computers I have ip ranges 192.168.0.0-192.168.255.255 set as trusted which I set up when I first installed ZA. That seemed to work fine but now there is this new "network" that I cannot delete though I can change its zone designation.

    Is this something to be concerned about?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: Also Found new network

    Hello,

    Is the IP address it detects each time the same IP address?

    Do you check the box to rememeber the setting?

    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    jimll Guest

    Default Re: Also Found new network

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    Hello,

    Is the IP address it detects each time the same IP address?

    Do you check the box to rememeber the setting?

    Forum Moderator
    I didn't write it down, but I think it was the same every time and the same as what jealousmonk posted. I'll have a chance to check it out in a few minutes I'm sure.

    JimLL

  5. #5
    NelsonHouse Guest

    Default Re: Also Found new network

    I have been suffering the same "New Network Found" issue (Private Wireless Network Found) after boot up or restart, since updating to Zone Alarm Free 9.2.057.000. The network found is always my Netgear ADSL Router: 192.168.0.0. You have to accept this network in order to continue, if put into the trusted zone it does not appear, but this home network range is already there as 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0. This only happens with the PC which uses wireless to connect to the router, my other PC on LAN connection to router is OK. If I disable the wireless USB device, there is no new network found message until the wireless dongle is enabled again (but obviously no network or internet either!). The wireless USB device is a Netgear WN111, using Netgear software which gives the option upon installation to disable Windows Wireless Zero Configuration and use the Netgear software. The wireless devices are 802.11n, so need the Netgear software to use their full capability. Both PCs are similar WindowsXP SP3 on Gigabyte motherboards. I have not tried using WZC instead to see if the problem is still there when not using the wireless USB's own software. Does any of this help get closer to eliminating this issue?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,287

    Default Re: Also Found new network

    Just use the zero configuration one and you should not have the problem. I have the same usb adapter and it works fine.

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 18th, 2011, 12:59 AM
  2. [WORKAROUND] HP_Utils.exe and ZA --> Remove ZA toolbar
    By Leland in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 20th, 2011, 11:43 PM
  3. [SOLVED] NEW NETWORK FOUND, driving me crazy --> Issue with third party software
    By hanging in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2010, 07:48 AM
  4. [WORKAROUND] ZA toolbar conflict with DirSyncPro --> Remove ZA toolbar
    By jack black in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 19th, 2010, 10:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •