Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: WIN7/64 - ZAPRO: Cannot install due to unkown error

  1. #1
    dorianmuthig Guest

    Default WIN7/64 - ZAPRO: Cannot install due to unkown error

    Hello,



    I cannot install any version of ZoneAlarm. The installer aborts after completing around 18 or 19 percent of the installation due to an "unknown error".



    I am using Windows 7 x64 with all recent updates installed.

    There are more than 6GB of free space on the system drive.

    The antivirus software currently installed is avast! 5.0.594 with 100810-1 definitions.

    The wired network adapter of the motherboard uses a Realtek chipset with the driver version 7.18.322.2010 installed. There are no wireless adapters in the system. There are virtual network adapters for Orcale VirtualBox and Microsoft Virtual PC as well as a Toshiba Bluetooth PAN adapter present.

    I have an Nvidia graphics card with the most recent drivers installed.



    The ErrorLog file shows:

    # This file is created by a ZoneLabs installer to report errors encountered in the install process.
    # Log created 08/11/10 9:27:24
    # Installing ZoneAlarm Pro on Windows version: 6.1.7600
    # Computer name: {irrelevant and removed for security reasons}
    Command line:
    # Command Line =
    All Errorlogs consolidated.
    Finished with logging Installer messages.
    Finished with logging Installer messages.
    The INSTALL file shows:

    *** Installation Started 08/11/2010 9:27 ***
    Title: ZoneAlarm Pro Installer
    Source: C:\Users\{removed}\AppData\Local\Temp\GLB82C0.tmp | 08-11-2010 | 09:27:12 | 71680
    Made Dir: C:\Users\{removed}\AppData\Local\Temp\08111092713
    RegDB Key: SOFTWARE\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Registration
    RegDB Val: U.S. English
    RegDB Name: RegLanguage
    RegDB Root: 2
    RegDB Old: U.S. English
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\DiagnosticsCaptureTool. exe | 07-20-2010 | 21:22:50 | | 253440 | af64e437
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\cpinfo.ini | 07-06-2009 | 11:03:08 | | 170 | 57dcd534
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\cp_ini\za_base.ini | 01-07-2010 | 15:53:10 | | 3939 | 4cd5ab39
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\cp_ini\za_minidumps.ini | 01-07-2010 | 15:53:10 | | 4055 | 6b598665
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\cp_ini\za_fulldumps.ini | 01-07-2010 | 15:53:10 | | 4102 | 6cbf2def
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\kave.ini | 07-17-2009 | 15:47:12 | | 108 | b63f62d8
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\cpinfo.exe | 10-09-2009 | 15:19:54 | 86.9.0.7 | 345384 | 9d9b2271
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\vsutil.dll
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\vsinit.dll
    File Overwrite: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\osrbang.exe | 07-06-2009 | 11:03:06 | 2.1.0.0 | 79360 | 7d8eb491
    RegDB Key: SOFTWARE\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics
    RegDB Val: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\osrbang.exe
    RegDB Name: BangPath
    RegDB Root: 2
    RegDB Old: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\osrbang.exe
    RegDB Key: SOFTWARE\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics
    RegDB Val: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\cpinfo.exe
    RegDB Name: CPInfoPath
    RegDB Root: 2
    RegDB Old: C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\cpinfo.exe
    RegDB Key: SOFTWARE\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics
    RegDB Val: http://lockup.zonealarm.com/upload
    RegDB Name: UploadURL
    RegDB Root: 2
    RegDB Old: http://lockup.zonealarm.com/upload
    User Rights: Admin
    If you need more information or know of other possible incompatibilities, please let me know. Thanks in advance for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    You may be running a non supported/incompatible software. Before trying to install ZA again run the ZA removal tool you find here:

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...cpes_clean.exe

    Save it to desktop, right click on it and "run it as administrator". You need to be sure all main ZA left overs are erased before trying to install ZA again.

    Before running the ZAPRO installer try to quit any third party software/service running.
    Please note that users have reported issues with Avast 5. Disable Avast 5 webshields before installing ZA.

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; August 11th, 2010 at 12:26 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    dorianmuthig Guest

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    ZoneAlarm was never installed on this machine, there shouldn't be anything to remove and cpes_clean does not appear to do anything, the installer behaves exactly the same.
    avast! only has the file shield and the behaviour shield running, I don't need the others anyway, disabling those as well does not make a difference.
    Creating a new user account and installing from there also doesn't work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    From the installing log, you will see that ZA is overwriting files. This is why it was suggested to remove all ZA files before reinstalling.

    The ZA components you may want to look for are (they may be placed in different location in w7 64bit - i.e. x86 folder):

    Folders:
    C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\
    C:\Windows\Internet Logs\
    C:\Program Files\CheckPoint\
    C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\

    and files:

    C:\Windows\system32\vsutil.dll.
    C:\Windows\system32\vsdata.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\vsmonapi.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\vsinit.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\vspubapi.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\vsxml.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\vswmi.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\zlcommdb.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\zlcomm.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\vsdatant.sys
    C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\vsdatant.sys
    C:\Windows\system32\vsdata95.vxd
    C:\Windows\system32\zpeng24.dll
    C:\Windows\system32\zpeng25.dll

    Remember that you need to install ZA from an administrator account.

    You could try to install ZA by booting without any third party software as indicated below.

    1.) Type MSCONFIG in the WIN7 search box and click ENTER
    2.) Once in MSConfig, click the Startup Tab
    3.) Remove the checks from everything except ZLClient
    4.) Click the Services Tab
    5.) Place a check in "Hide All Microsoft Services"
    6.) Now remove checks from everything other than TrueVector Internet
    Monitor and ForceField (if present), and click OK.
    7.) Restart your computer

    Install ZA now... keeping only standard MS services. ZA should not be intalled in any Virtual machine (VM).

    NOTE: You can place your computer back into a normal startup process by
    going back into msconfig and choosing the Normal Startup option on the
    General tab.

    Finally if all the above fails try to install ZA by booting the PC in "SAFE MODE with networking".

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Btw, latest ZA contain MS embedded fixes for win7. However you may need to install it on US/UK win7 versions. It may not work on other localised OSs. Or try to install the ZA German (as you location) version if available.
    Last edited by fax; August 11th, 2010 at 03:32 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    dorianmuthig Guest

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    The only files the installer is overwriting are those in C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\Diagnostics\*, the two log files at C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\ErrorLog.txt and C:\Program Files (x86)\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\INSTALL.LOG and this debug file at C:\Windows\Internet Logs\tvDebug.log as well as some registry values. There are no write permission problems, so I don't believe they are a problem.
    It also creates another more detailed installation log file containing this:
    version.wse processed. PRODVER=9.3.014.000
    temputil processed.
    checkOS processed.
    Set mutex.
    Set env var.
    Installed utility files to C:\Users\{removed}\AppData\Local\Temp\08111092713
    Debug: Installation started.
    createTmpDir.wse processed.
    Created Temp Dir C:\Users\{removed}\AppData\Local\Temp\08111092713
    readBrandInfo.wse processed.
    oemKey.wse processed. OEMKEY=1043, OEMTITLE=ZL 8 Akamai Trial
    APPTITLE=ZoneAlarm Pro
    PRODUCT_MODE=1
    Debug: not 64Bit
    cmdLine done
    Debug: checkOthFW done
    checkAV done
    NEWPROD=ZAPRO
    isUpgrade=NO
    Deleting rdb files.
    CISCOINSTALLED=NO
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vsutil.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vsdata.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vsmonapi.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vsinit.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vspubapi.dllC:\Windows\system3 2\vsxml.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vswmi.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zlcommdb.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zlcomm.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\ssleay32.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vsdatant.sys. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\vsdatant.sys. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\vsdata95.vxd. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\vsdb.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\html.tdr. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\vsmon.exe. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\av.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\vsmondll.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\vsruledb.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\minilog.exe. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\featuremap.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zpeng24.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zpeng25.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\zlupdate.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\scheduler.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\zlcommdb.xml. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\ntName16.dll. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\ntname32.xml. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\ntname32.xml. Dll count: 0
    Checking C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\vsdatant.sys. Dll count: 0
    isUpgrade=NO
    Load registration information
    Show Wizard
    Done with Wizard
    Consolidate logs
    DORESET=NO
    stop vsmon
    vsmon.exe does not exist. Nothing to stop.
    vsmon stopped
    setting registration
    Remove old stuff we don't want anymore.
    Remove files vsmon was keeping in-use.
    Run an uninstall of old versions.
    Installing new files beginning now.
    Executing Exit script.
    SAVEERRLOG=YES
    INSTALLINIT=YES
    JUSTQUIT=NO
    SAVEERRLOG=YES
    Consolidate logs
    Consolidate logs to default place
    CL_LOGFILE=C:\Users\{removed}\AppData\Local\Temp\0 8111092713\GLF4E4.tmp
    C:\Users\{removed}\AppData\Local\Temp\08111092713\ GLF4E4.tmp does exist.
    C:\Users\{removed}\AppData\Local\Temp\08111092713
    We have vsutil, so turn on driver file protection.
    Finishing Exit script.
    C:\Program Files\CheckPoint\ or C:\Program Files (x86)\CheckPoint\ and C:\Windows\system32\zonelabs\ do not exist.

    Disabling non-Microsoft services does not work.

    I am not trying to install ZoneAlarm on a virtual machine, this is the host machine, I am simply stating the present network adapters and drivers in case there are any known problems.

    Also, I am running the US English version of Windows, so running the US English version of your software does not seem to be an odd choice to me.

    I've tried a couple more things now, and when the error occurs, the installer is trying to copy the file vsdatant.cat into the temporary directory or attempting a subsequent action. I assume it's trying to install a driver and fails for an "unknown" reason.
    If I could have a few more details as to what the installer does at that point and how, that might help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    As you suggest please clean out all temp folders. The safest approach to be sure to clean all temps is to run ccleaner. Also ensure you have not dedicated (non default) permission set at level of UAC or not using any LUA.

    The inability to copy drivers in the system points to non-default write permissions at the level of the registry or at the level of the system folder. ZA needs access to system folders.

    Quote Originally Posted by dorianmuthig View Post
    ... so running the US English version of your software does not seem to be an odd choice to me.
    Not my software sorry, all users here trying to help each other. If you want to contact the ZA official support (ZA staff) you need to click on the link in my signature.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    dorianmuthig Guest

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    Cleaning the temp folder is not necessary, the installer creates a random number subfolder every time it is started and copies temporary files there.
    User account control is set to maximum, but also not relevant since the installer is started with administrative rights and all subsequently forged processes would automatically inherit the same rights.

    There are no problems with the registry permissions or the system folder. Access is granted to elevated processes as it normally would. If there is a "problem" with permissions it is an issue with the installer, which, since this is security software I am trying to install, shouldn't have any problems with common security settings like UAC set to always notify and with protected desktop enabled or the requirement for digitally signed drivers on 64-bit systems. If those things I last mentioned are causing the problem I am having, then there is clearly something wrong with the software, and I see no reason to change or disable those settings.

    ~~snip~~
    Last edited by fax; August 11th, 2010 at 07:31 AM. Reason: offtopic

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    I have no problem on running ZA on win7 64bit. There is no general issues of installation of the software on win7 64bit, otherwise you would have this board flooded by messages. This is something happening on your specific set-up.

    You could still try to contact ZA support for installation issues. On trial you have full support (and you don't even get at this stage). However I doubt you will receive useful information. But you don't loose anything by trying it.

    If there are no addittional user help you need I will close this thread. Please do not hesitate to PM me in case you have any important information you want to post.

    Thank you.

    Fax
    Last edited by fax; August 11th, 2010 at 07:32 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Cannot install due to unkown error

    Also try to install this MS hotfix. It fix several issues in their WFP especially for WIN7.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/981889

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  10. #10
    dorianmuthig Guest

    Default Re: WIN7/64 - ZAPRO: Cannot install due to unkown error

    OK, now I have, and be it just for the fun of it, actually tried even those rather strange file deletion suggestions.
    I tried disabling all services and startup programs, deleting all installed files and registry entries both manually and using cpes_clean.exe in both normal system mode, safe mode with networking and (normal) safe mode, I also installed the KB981889 hotfix and tried those things all over again, and the problem persists.
    Further analysis has shown that the "Unknown Error" is the installer failing to install the NDIS Usermode I/O Zone Alarm Firewall Driver.

    I now also tried disabling NetBIOS over TCP/IP, the problem persists.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] ZA Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7
    By Patto21 in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 26th, 2010, 01:30 AM
  2. BSOD with ZAPro and Win7 64-bit
    By tomfitzsr in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: January 7th, 2010, 11:14 AM
  3. ZAPRO on Win7 64-Bit with no BSOD
    By hydrologic in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 7th, 2010, 10:35 AM
  4. ZAPRO 9.0.114 + Win7 questions
    By Scotty2010 in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 18th, 2009, 02:18 PM
  5. ZAPRO 9.0.114 and Win7 issues
    By Scotty2010 in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 18th, 2009, 01:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •