Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: DCOM Expolit, ZA Pro and Avast AV

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    orlan Guest

    Default DCOM Expolit, ZA Pro and Avast AV

    My AV avast free version 5.0.594 is warning me of threat (DCOM Expolit) that it blocked. My question is why isn't my ZA Pro (version 9.3.014) firewall not catching this and warning me. As I understand it a DCOM Expolit is an attack directed at the firewall and not an AV attack. Any help or explanation will be appreciated.

    regards
    orlan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: DCOM Expolit, ZA Pro and Avast AV

    Sorry, There is a known compatibility problem with the New AVAST 5.0 and ZA, that must be Fixed by the makers of AVAST.

    I recommend going back to AVAST 4, until AVAST 5.1 fix is available.

    The Moderator comments in this Forum link may explain the AVAST problem..

    http://forum.zonealarm.com/showthread.php?t=74987
    Last edited by GeorgeV; August 12th, 2010 at 05:42 AM. Reason: typo
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    orlan Guest

    Default Re: DCOM Expolit, ZA Pro and Avast AV

    You didn't answer my question Mr Guru. You just stated that it's Avast 5.0's fault for what ever reason, told me uninstall 5.0 and then directed me to a link which talks about browsers and avast and being blocked. No where did it mention about DCOM Expolit that I could find.

    As it stands now I have no problem with ZA Pro and Avast 5 coexisting with each other. I've really had no problems with either coexisting. What I'm trying to determine is why my AV is catching something that I understand my ZA Pro firewall should have caught. If I am wrong about this, please explain.

    I have been using ZA firewall for over 4 years, 2 of which with ZA Pro. I have been using Avast for about the same number of years. I like both and plan to use them in the future.

    regards

    orlan
    A paying customer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: DCOM Expolit, ZA Pro and Avast AV

    Hi!
    just to avoid misunderstadings. We are all users here and no ZA staff. As a paying customer you can contact, free of charge, the ZA official technical support at the link in my signature. They are on-line 24h 7d.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] Really need help DCOM Exploit issue
    By diva42 in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 8th, 2010, 12:42 PM
  2. Zonealarm and DCOM
    By mikrahn in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 2nd, 2008, 02:42 PM
  3. Configure ZA to block DCOM on port Ranges?
    By opforce in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 14th, 2008, 05:12 AM
  4. ZoneAlarm pro & Avast 4.7 pro
    By 2eb in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 14th, 2006, 08:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •