Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

  1. #1
    yorktom Guest

    Default both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    hi guys, I have problem,
    now I'm use (win xp pro sp3) + ZoneAlarm Pro 8 and Symantec Endpoint

    but that endpoint suite products (antivirus + firewall)

    if as same time start+run both firewall software , is more safe?

    I love that zonealarm 8 desgin is very baby user face (
    (automatic setting) and (internet zone security - (high, med, off) level.

    but version 8.0x is latest ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    Hi!
    golden rule of security. Never ever use two firewall or two antivirus at the same tome. Make a choice either ZAPRO (latest version is 9) with an antivirus ONLY solution or just use the one you have and remove ZA.

    Both together (even if disabled) can cause instability issues, connection failures and other problems with the end result of less security.

    Sorry,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    yorktom Guest

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    thanks, may I ask if installed (zonealarm 8 and endpoint)
    when connect internet, disable some one, only use single firewall software. safe?

    how about zonealarm pro version 8 or 9, same design, same firewall rules?

    version 9 is suite products?
    if upgrade zonealarm 8 pro to ver.9, how to choose what type of version 9?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    Quote Originally Posted by yorktom View Post
    thanks, may I ask if installed (zonealarm 8 and endpoint)
    when connect internet, disable some one, only use single firewall software. safe?
    As already mentioned even if disabled ZA will load drivers at boot with the other solution and vice versa. This is not recommended nor desirable. Up to you to take the risk, if you want.

    Quote Originally Posted by yorktom View Post
    how about zonealarm pro version 8 or 9, same design, same firewall rules?
    For changes between ZAPRO8 and ZAPRO9 see the link below (towards the bottom of the page you have the release notes)
    www.zonealarm.com/zapdownload/

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    yorktom Guest

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    thanks, is look version 9 maybe Win7, IE7, IE8 used.
    I'm used Win xp sp3, IE6, need upgrade?

    also, version 8.0.400.020 is latest version? maybe few months coming version 8 sub next version ?

    how to upgrade from 8.0.298.000 to 8.0.400.020, free? call customer care to request files and license key?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    Hi!
    version 8 is not anymore supported. You need to upgrade to version 9 for official support. You seem to be within the requirements for installing ZAPRO9. See below:

    http://www.zonealarm.com/security/en...m-products.htm

    With a valid ZAPRO license you can upgrade to any new ZAPRO. If you have a valid license you can contact, free of charge, the ZA technical support at the link in my signature (we are all users here).

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    yorktom Guest

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    thanks, but I not understand upgrade to 8.0.400.020 step is:

    goto overview > product info > Support and Update information (click:Renew)
    and goto "anti-spyware" > click: view update

    to get version 8 latest version?


    or need download latest version, and uninstalled older version first?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    Here:
    www.zonealarm.com/zapdownload/
    You download the latest version... and install it.

    This normally should work unless ZA will refuse to install due to the other security tool

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    Quote Originally Posted by yorktom View Post
    thanks, but I not understand upgrade to 8.0.400.020 step is:

    goto overview > product info > Support and Update information (click:Renew)
    and goto "anti-spyware" > click: view update

    to get version 8 latest version?


    or need download latest version, and uninstalled older version first?

    I agree with Guru Fax, he has given you the Link to the Current, latest upgrade to ZA Pro..

    Your Old ver. 8.0.400.020 is too old to upgrade from the "Check for Upgrade" button in version 8.0, as Version 8.0.400.020 is no longer Officially Supported, You must upgrade to ZA Pro 9.3 to be up to date and qualify for Official Support.

    Click on link below to Download the latest ZA Pro version 9.3.014.000.

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...seHistory.html
    Last edited by GeorgeV; September 10th, 2010 at 09:02 AM. Reason: fix typo
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  10. #10
    yorktom Guest

    Default Re: both firewall (zonealarm pro 8 and symantec endpoint)

    thanks, zonealarm 8 pro version 8.0.400.020 is last one of version 8. was dis-supoort, and was Dis-continued?

    I feel version.8 only 5 sub version. good project.
    but version 9 have (7 sub version.), still maybe no stable?

    EDIT: as same as windows. I love XP, more than win.7
    because XP SP3 is last version... is look stable version.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ForceField and Symantec Endpoint Protection
    By Mark Worthington in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 28th, 2009, 06:22 AM
  2. Symantec anti-virus 2009 and Basic firewall don't mix
    By sevenredp in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 10th, 2008, 09:25 AM
  3. Firewall Blocks Access to Symantec IP Address
    By donal in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 5th, 2006, 10:06 AM
  4. Latest ZA Pro stops Symantec CE anti-virus
    By jconybeare in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2006, 03:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •