Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: [WORKAROUND] Win7 64bit backup/restore issue with Win.Home Server -> Upgrade to ZAPRO

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZA + Win7 64bit blocks backup and restore with Windows Home Server

    Indeed weird... sorry I exhausted all possible suggestions...

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  2. #12
    dapjukebox Guest

    Default Re: ZA + Win7 64bit blocks backup and restore with Windows Home Server

    I'am now wondering if this problem is unique to the free version.
    I see the pro version is at a higher version number.
    Is there a trial version available?
    The pro version offers more than i really need and i dont understand why the pricing is per year.
    What do you have to constantly pay for?
    Does the basic functionality ie the firewall and program control stop working if your subscription expires?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZA + Win7 64bit blocks backup and restore with Windows Home Server

    Hi!

    All ZA products have a 30 days trial. For the other questions (licensing and non-renewal) is better to contact directly the ZA customer support at the link in my signature. Renewal policy and features may change and I don't want to give you misleading informations

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,641

    Default Re: ZA + Win7 64bit blocks backup and restore with Windows Home Server

    The issue has been logged as a possible bug.

    Its hard to say when or if it will get fixed.

    Many factor come into play as far as severity, number of users affected by this when compared to the entire userbase, and the resources.

    We currently don't have any of these specialized PC's like from HP and other vendors just to be used as a Windows Home Server.

    So no guarantee it will get fixed but has been logged as a possible ZoneAlarm bug.

    Only workaround you have is to manually perform the backups since that does work.

    Best regards,
    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #15
    dapjukebox Guest

    Default Re: ZA + Win7 64bit blocks backup and restore with Windows Home Server

    OK i have installed the pro version and can confirm this works perfectly so if a developer wants to go bug hunting this should give him a starting point.
    Although i have no need for the extra functionality (i only really need program control) the cost does seem reasonable especially as you can use it on 3 pc's.

    Thanks for all of your help trying to pin this down, it seems the fix was easy - open my wallet!!!!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZA + Win7 64bit blocks backup and restore with Windows Home Server

    Thank you dapjukebox for taking the time to update us on your progress. I will close this thread since a 'workaround' has been found. Do not hesitate to PM me if you need to re-open it or just open a new thread for any other ZA product related issue you may have.

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; October 8th, 2010 at 06:03 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Using Backup Restore Settings from ZAPro to ZA Internet Security
    By jdrom in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 15th, 2009, 06:01 AM
  2. Backup/Restore/Retain Security Settings during Upgrade - Work for you?
    By solardude in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: February 17th, 2009, 02:59 PM
  3. Upgrade issue from ZAFree to ZAPro
    By wabnaki in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 4th, 2009, 02:31 AM
  4. Upgrade to SBE keeping backup and restore ability
    By basilsys in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 28th, 2006, 05:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •