Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [Resolved] Norton Antivirus 2011

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    richard1296 Guest

    Exclamation [Resolved] Norton Antivirus 2011

    NAV wants me to remove Zone Alarm to install Norton..is it OK to reinstall ZA
    after installing Norton Antivirus or has Norton finally made itself incompatible
    with ZA ? I was offered a free upgrade from NAV2010 to the 2011 version.
    I have no problems with compatibility with the 2010 version I have now. I
    don't want any problems after the upgrade either.
    Anyone have the newest Norton Antivirus and ZA pro running without
    any problems .

    Richard
    Last edited by GeorgeV; October 15th, 2010 at 06:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: Norton Antivirus 2011

    It could be very possible that Norton has integrated a firewall into there 2011 Antivirus product.

    That would be the reason they say to remove ZAP because two firewalls running will lead to issues.
    This should be something you contact Norton about, and ask why the 2011 version is doing this verses the 2010 version you were previously running didn't.


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    320

    Default Re: Norton Antivirus 2011

    No problem here running ZA pro 9.3.037 alongside NAV 2011 on XP SP3. When I upgraded to NAV 2011 from 2010 I first uninstalled ZA pro, then installed NAV 2011, then reinstalled ZA pro.
    NAV (as opposed to NIS) does not include a real firewall, it does have an intrusion detection option, but that does not seem to clash with ZA (or can be turned off if you find that it does).

  4. #4
    tasman Guest

    Default Re: Norton Antivirus 2011

    richard1296, I have been running Norton AV 2011 and ZA Pro for a few month with no problems, just click on skip the message to uninstall Zone Alarm PRO and upgrade your Norton and you should be good to go .There is no firewall in Norton AV. they are running great together , I have the latest version of ZA PRO

    TASMAN
    Last edited by tasman; October 14th, 2010 at 04:36 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: Norton Antivirus 2011

    So here is the issue.

    Norton has decided to get you to remove competing software. This way they can say 'Hey you need a firewall, why not upgrade to Suite or 360'
    Pure Norton marketing trickery.

    Way around this issue is this.

    Uninstall ZA.

    Install Norton Antivirus 2011 then install ZA Pro. There will be no warning when you install ZA last.

    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    tasman Guest

    Default Re: Norton Antivirus 2011

    I feel there is no need to un-install ZA Pro as this is just a warning . I clicked SKIP in the lower left corner and installed Norton and had no problem what so ever .
    Just my opinion.
    TASMAN
    Last edited by tasman; October 14th, 2010 at 04:39 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Would like to discontinue using Norton Antivirus and Norton Firewall
    By nich in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 19th, 2007, 11:37 AM
  2. Norton AntiVirus
    By bigbad in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 17th, 2007, 05:08 AM
  3. Norton Antivirus
    By agaubr in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 19th, 2006, 09:15 PM
  4. norton antivirus
    By edbelin in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 1st, 2006, 12:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •