Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

  1. #1
    Shawn Davis Guest

    Default ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

    Hello,

    yesterday I updated to the latest version of ZA free. I have been using an old version for the past two years, with no problems whatsoever.
    The new version works fine, with just one issue that keeps me unsettled.

    Upon launching, zlclient.exe starts maintaining a https connection to address 95.100.149.68 for no apparent reason. It wasn't happening with the previous version.

    Any idea why it does that? It's not automatic updates as I have them set to manual, plus they connect to a completely different address which also actually resolves to update.zonelabs.com, unlike the IP above which doesn't seem to have any hostnames associated with it.

  2. #2
    Shawn Davis Guest

    Default Re: ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

    I have rebooted twice or thrice since the time I posted at first and ZA doesn't seem to do it anymore.. I'm still quite curious what it was though

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

    Hi!
    it is a akamai server (normally used as mirror by many software) probably is the smartdefense feature in the new ZA that controls which ever program is run with a central database of known good and known bad applications. Or it could be the ZA toolbar if you have installed it. Normally this should not be a forever link unless you are blocking ZA from connecting and then ZA get confused. Finally it could be also a software installed on the system that use it (you see ZA since it is filtering all calls from the system).

    For knowing for sure you need to contact ZA technical support (link in my siognature). But ZAfree does not offer official support. So, either you keep playing with it, install the old version or you remove it and find something else that does not cause unwanted connection.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Shawn Davis Guest

    Default Re: ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Hi!
    it is a akamai server (normally used as mirror by many software) probably is the smartdefense feature in the new ZA that controls which ever program is run with a central database of known good and known bad applications. Or it could be the ZA toolbar if you have installed it. Normally this should not be a forever link unless you are blocking ZA from connecting and then ZA get confused. Finally it could be also a software installed on the system that use it (you see ZA since it is filtering all calls from the system).

    For knowing for sure you need to contact ZA technical support (link in my siognature). But ZAfree does not offer official support. So, either you keep playing with it, install the old version or you remove it and find something else that does not cause unwanted connection.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    thanks for the reply

    I did not install the toolbar, but the possibility of it being related to smart defense advisor crossed my mind as well
    and yes the connection stayed open (in "ESTABLISHED" state, not close_wait or anything) for quite a long time - about 30 minutes, without any apparent reason, I'm sure nothing was blocking it

    also I'm a little confused as to what you meant by "you see ZA since it is filtering all calls from the system" - as far as I remember I don't recall seeing any network connections made by a ZA executable whatsoever (other connections than the one at hand), and I manually check network connections every once in a while every day

    anyway, as I mentioned seconds before you posted, ZA doesn't seem to create those connections upon launch / reboot anymore.. it's really strange

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

    Could be perfectly normal and by design but only ZA staff can confirm (all users here). So either you trust it or removed it. I can't offer more explanations.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Shawn Davis Guest

    Default Re: ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

    I'll let it be for now and hopefully won't see anymore suspicious activity :))

    thanks for your time

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: ZA stays connected to an unknown IP

    You're welcome

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. zone alarm stays in tray
    By Grimmsan in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 13th, 2010, 08:13 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 9th, 2008, 08:23 AM
  3. Zone alarm Firewall and Antivirus never stays on
    By chump in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2008, 02:53 PM
  4. ZASS & Status bar for Anti-virus/anti-spyware stays red even after update (on XP pro SP3)
    By eliecohen in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: June 11th, 2008, 07:09 PM
  5. Logo stays on Taskbar
    By sozomenos in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 25th, 2006, 04:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •