Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar

  1. #1
    joeii Guest

    Default ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar

    I have version 9.2.076.00 installed on my Win XP Professional IE8 system.

    I have multiple accounts on this computer and with some of the user accounts I can't get the ZoneAlarm Security Engine toolbar to display. When I look at View/Toolbars I see it there - checked, but it isn't displayed. Any idea why it's available for some users and not others on the same computer?

    BTW - the ZoneAlarm Security Toolbar works fine for all users.

  2. #2
    joeii Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar

    Any ideas?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,641

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar

    We need more details.

    What permission levels are all these accounts.

    the account that do work are they different level than the one that don't?

    When you first installed ZA what account did you install it under and its permission.

    There was some toolbar fixes in 9.2.102.000, try upgrading to this.

    First uninstall ZA using our uninstaller. Make sure the toolbar was removed in the browsers for ALL user accounts.

    Then download and install the new version.
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...102_000_en.exe


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    joeii Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    We need more details.

    1. What permission levels are all these accounts.

    2. the account that do work are they different level than the one that don't?

    3. When you first installed ZA what account did you install it under and its permission.

    4. There was some toolbar fixes in 9.2.102.000, try upgrading to this.

    First uninstall ZA using our uninstaller. Make sure the toolbar was removed in the browsers for ALL user accounts.

    Then download and install the new version.
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...102_000_en.exe


    Forum Moderator
    Hello,

    Thanks for the response.

    1. I have one account with admin and 5 regular users.

    2. The admin account and one regular user account works.

    3. I installed it with the admin account.

    4. I'll try this new version and report back.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,641

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar

    Hello,

    I got this response back from Development.

    This is currently known issue for Free ZA toolbar. The toolbar installer does not handle the case with multiple user accounts. Toolbar is always installed for the current user only.

    Since you got two accounts to work is lucky or a fluke.

    This is something that is planned to be an enhancement in a later release in 2011.


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    joeii Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    Hello,

    I got this response back from Development.

    This is currently known issue for Free ZA toolbar. The toolbar installer does not handle the case with multiple user accounts. Toolbar is always installed for the current user only.

    Since you got two accounts to work is lucky or a fluke.

    This is something that is planned to be an enhancement in a later release in 2011.


    Forum Moderator
    OK. I just finished installing the latest version and things didn't get any better, which based on your post is a known problem.

    During the install I lost one of the accounts that "worked", not I'm down to one, which is what is expected I guess.

    Thanks again for researching this issue for me. Iíll be looking for the update.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Q about FireFox and ZoneAlarm Security Engine
    By Huskyhund in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 25th, 2010, 06:02 AM
  2. Has Zonealarm relinquished spware scanning to the kasperky engine!
    By zczc in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2010, 12:41 PM
  3. security toolbar 7.1
    By jayray in forum Malware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2008, 09:32 AM
  4. ZoneAlarm Security Suite - Antivirus Engine Update
    By kakashi in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 1st, 2006, 03:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •