Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: IE 8 not working now

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Dria Guest

    Default IE 8 not working now

    I just installed ZoneAlarm Pro and Internet Explorer 8 no longer comes up. I have edited the program control and still no luck. I seem to be only able to use Firefox. Additionally, windows task manager is acting strange. I no longer get the full program, just a tab.

    How do I fix this?
    Last edited by Dria; January 20th, 2011 at 03:27 AM. Reason: more information

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: IE 8 not working now

    On which system is ZA PRO running? XP? Windows 7? Virtual Machine? Mac? What else is installed that runs at boot? There may be some conlficts that impair ZA to work properly.

    Is ZAPRO installed with default settings? Or you have changed something in ZA firewall section or Program control section?

    More information you put more likely you will get other users here guessing your problem.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Dria Guest

    Default Re: IE 8 not working now

    Thanks for asking, I have Vista. I am looking for the services.exe file and do not see it in Program Control. I am a long time user of ZoneAlarm, so this is pretty annoying. I had put the program control at learning mode because I just installed it. Then I went in and allowed access for some programs that I need.

    No luck thus far.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: IE 8 not working now

    Quote Originally Posted by Dria View Post
    Thanks for asking, I have Vista. I am looking for the services.exe file and do not see it in Program Control. I am a long time user of ZoneAlarm, so this is pretty annoying. I had put the program control at learning mode because I just installed it. Then I went in and allowed access for some programs that I need.

    No luck thus far.
    is Vista Fully updated to SP2 and latest Critical MS Updates?

    What version of ZA Pro?

    Have you changed or updated any other Security Program?
    What ver Security programs and ver #

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country,
    without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    *** NOTICE:

    Whenever posting here- or Contacting ZA Tech Support, it is always advisable to list Full details of your Computer:
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: IE 8 not working now

    Quote Originally Posted by Dria View Post
    I had put the program control at learning mode because I just installed it.
    Normally at install you are anyway at learning mode and programs are automatically allowed. Was ZAPRO not in learning mode at install? Then something went wrong during install.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Dria Guest

    Default Re: IE 8 not working now

    I keep my computer fully updated with windows updates, etc.

    The last time I tried to use ZoneAlarm with Vista - new install, I had similar problems.

    I am using 9.3.037.000

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: IE 8 not working now

    Quote Originally Posted by Dria View Post
    The last time I tried to use ZoneAlarm with Vista - new install, I had similar problems.
    Then probably is an issue with permission, ZA cannot write on the HD or the registry as it should and then permissions, behaviour and operations gets corrupted.

    In case its just ZA corrupted files (and not the system) that are not removed correctly you may want to try remove ZA manually ensuring you fully remove ALL files. You need to remove them by booting the PC in SAFE MODE.

    See here how to proceed:
    I cannot find or run the ZoneAlarm uninstall program (Vista)

    Fax
    P.S. You still haven't provided all the details asked in this thread...

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    Dria Guest

    Default Re: IE 8 not working now

    Ok, IE works (sort of) but I get multiple versions after I restore last session. Task Manager still is not behaving.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is it working or not?
    By dhuffaker in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 24th, 2008, 03:42 PM
  2. ZA not working?
    By kiwiphil in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2008, 05:22 AM
  3. ZA 8.0 does not appear to be working correctly
    By kirkman in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 20th, 2008, 04:49 AM
  4. Is ZA still working for me?
    By jezzzzza in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 13th, 2008, 05:13 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 5th, 2008, 07:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •