Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

  1. #1
    c0m0c1um Guest

    Question [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    yesterday i installed zonealarm 9.2.106 and today i noticed that both windows firewall and zonealarm are on
    the advanced option in firewall main (disable windows firewall) has checkmark
    but still windows firewall is on

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    Exact OS version where ZA is installed? Previous firewall installed? Was windows firewall ON at the time of install? Have you tried to fully remove ZA, turn ON windows firewall, check everything is in order and than install ZA again? Did you shutdown any other security tool before installing ZA? What security tool are you using?

    More information you provide to other users here more likely they will be able to point you to the solution or help to troubleshoot the issue.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    c0m0c1um Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    windows 7 ultimate x64 / program files x86 [za folder]
    previous firewall - zonealarm free 9.2.105
    windows firewall was off when i was installing za 9.2.106
    i don't have any other security tool
    and i don't want to reinstall za...
    can i just disable windows firewall from control panel?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    Not recommended. If windows firewall is not OFF the ZA install didn't went as it should. Why posting here, then? You could have simply turned it off.
    Install ZA with default OS settings (= windows firewall ON). ZA should turn it off automatically. Also ensure to install ZA with under a full admnistrator account an not limited users.

    Also check where the OS is telling you windows firewall is ON, messages may be misintepreted in some section of the OS.

    No other security tool intalled? This is not good.
    You should at least have an antivirus. Plenty of free options out there. Never ever run your system naked.
    Last edited by fax; April 2nd, 2011 at 03:06 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    c0m0c1um Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    i'm admin
    i have an antivirus
    saw windows firewall is on after a popup when i start a game
    i went to control panel / windows firewall and it was on
    i will try to disable za to start at startup restart then enable za then restart
    hope that work if not - complete uninstall registry clean and clean install (dont want to do that but...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    Quote Originally Posted by c0m0c1um View Post
    i have an antivirus
    Sorry, you did not mentioned it before. Ensure the AV is shutdown before reinstalling ZA. Some users have reported issues with AVs if active when installing ZA. Also ensure you are not running an antivirus with firewall.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    c0m0c1um Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    i just reinstall za 92106 after running complete registry scan for leftovers
    perform a clean install after reboot za seems to work fine but windows firewall is still on
    for the first time it happens
    i always download the new versions of the za and update it
    everything was fine until now

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    And the main Action Center (security --> Network firewall) what does it says?
    That ZA firewall is ON? Or what?

    Your WIN7 repository could be corrupted, try to reset it. See here:
    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...2-f7e9c488600b

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    c0m0c1um Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    yep both are on

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm Free and Windows Firewall Question

    Go on with resetting the repository.... no other suggestion from my side. Sorry

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 9th, 2010, 10:57 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 11th, 2010, 10:10 PM
  3. [SOLVED] Windows Security Center: Firewall Off
    By firewall2 in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 17th, 2009, 03:28 AM
  4. [SOLVED] Vista-64 Ultimate, Windows Firewall and ZA
    By alismith in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2009, 12:40 AM
  5. Why is ZoneAlarm (FREE) Better Than Windows (XP) Firewall?
    By ncdad in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 17th, 2006, 04:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •