Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Multiple Copies of IE Running in Task Manager

  1. #1
    katiebuglove Guest

    Default Multiple Copies of IE Running in Task Manager

    I noticed a this a few days ago by accident and went searching. I found copies of IE in Windows\System 32\dllcache; Program Files\MS Works\Works, etc. I renamed them, opened my browser and saw there were still two copies running. I then deleted the copies that were found outisde of C:\Program Files, rebooted, opened my browser and they're still running.

    I went to the ZA Application Control, saw two IE listed in Programs and killed the one showing outside of C:\Program Files. I opened my browser, 2 copies still running, looked at App Control again and the 4 red x's had turned back to green checks.

    Incidently, I had to red check two of the columns on Generic Host Process to keep Port 135 closed and they keep reverting back to green. Am I infected? All help appreciated!!

    ZoneAlarm version: 10.0.241.000
    vsmon version: 10.0.241.000
    Driver version: 10.0.241.000
    Anti-virus engine version: 8.1.8.79
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version: 1054487776
    AntiSpam version: 6.3.1.4971
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.311.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.53.235
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155

    Windows XP
    SP3
    IE8
    Last edited by katiebuglove; June 26th, 2011 at 05:39 AM. Reason: Spelling Errors!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,461

    Default Re: Multiple Copies of IE Running in Task Manager

    Your problem with multiple copies of IE running sounds like a Windows or IE problem.. I'm sure Zone Alarm did not cause the problem..

    I did a "GOOGLE.EXE Search" and found this Solution on the "Microsoft Answers" web-page..
    "task manager shows multiple copies of IE8 running when I have only 1 browser open"

    Applies To: Internet Explorer | Internet Explorer 8 | Windows XP
    I have WInXP Media Ctr Ed w/ sp3. periodically I notice that browser's very slow or that when I choose to close window, the window that asks if I want to close current tabs or all tabs will re-appear after I choose close all tabs. When I opened TAsk Mgr, I found that I'd have at least 3 copies of IE8 running even though I'd only opened 1 & there's only 1 window showing. I"ve searched all over support area but find no similar problem. HElp?

    Click on this link:

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/i...a-428e4bf0c763

  3. #3
    katiebuglove Guest

    Default Re: Multiple Copies of IE Running in Task Manager

    ZA probably did not cause this, but I read that maybe my firewall had to call home and that it opened up a second iexplore.exe for that purpose.

    Anyway, I tried the link you sent me, thank you! I followed the steps but still have two in Task Manager.

    Except for slowing my system down, I'm not too concerned. I ran SAS Pro, Emsisoft, Malwarebytes, ZA (phwew!) and nothing showed up to indicate any viruses.

    Thanks for your help, GeorgeV, always appreciated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,461

    Default Re: Multiple Copies of IE Running in Task Manager

    Multiple Iexplorers is nothing to worry about..

    That is a normal Microsoft function..

    my Task Manager shows multiple iexplorer running now with just this one Web-page running..

    Your not infected or being attacted by an Unkown souces..

    have a nice weekend..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 26th, 2011 at 02:25 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,643

    Default Re: Multiple Copies of IE Running in Task Manager

    I use Process Explorer v 14.12.When I open IE8 it show one iexplore.exe with 1888 PID (Process Identifier) another PID 964.Looks like it's an open IE tab process from what I can see.

    If I open an other tab shows another tab process PID 3948.

    I have default setting in Internet Options for Tabs.

    XP SP3
    IE8

    Have a nice Day
     
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; June 26th, 2011 at 04:48 PM. Reason: New version

  6. #6
    katiebuglove Guest

    Default Re: Multiple Copies of IE Running in Task Manager

    I don't use the tabs settings, I like one page function and use back/forward buttons. Call me crazy (and old fashioned).

    So, would I still have multiples showing? I did read that if you close your browser and all copies clear from Task Manager, you're not infected. And, when I don't have a browser open,there aren't any showing in TM then either.

    And I'm kind of wondering why the multiples started only a few days ago and not all along.... And, dang! it's really slowing me down!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. multiple cmd.exe net.exe net1.exe in task manager
    By mommapuff in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 16th, 2010, 07:42 AM
  2. Processes continue running after shutdown in Task Manager
    By ccdussault in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 15th, 2008, 05:07 AM
  3. I have four scanningprocess.exe processes running in task manager
    By fallenboyangel in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 4th, 2008, 06:35 AM
  4. 2 instances of ScanningProcess.exe are running simultaneously under Windows Task Manager.
    By wstern in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 20th, 2007, 05:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •