Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

  1. #1
    cycmer Guest

    Question ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    I'm facing a learning curve here and hope folks can make suggestions...

    I'm running WIN 7, SP1 with IE 8.0.7601.17514
    and
    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 10.0.246.000
    vsmon version: 10.0.246.000
    Driver version: 10.0.217.000
    Anti-virus engine version: 8.1.8.79
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version: 1055877408
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.311.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.311.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155

    In ZAES, it says 'web security is on', and 'browser security is on'

    However, in IE8, there is no ZA Toolbar displayed. [ I just did a clean install of ZA].
    When I go to the menu View> Toolbars, there are two ZA items listed - unchecked.
    - zone alarm browser security engine
    - zone alarm browser security extreme toolbar

    Do I need to select one or both of these? what will that do besides "display" the toolbars?
    ... upsides? downsides?

    Thanks for your help.
    Bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Smile Re: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    Hi!

    sorry we are all users here, If you have a valid ZA license
    Please contact the ZA technical support Live Chat at the link in my signature and troubleshoot the issue with them.

    Please post back here if you find a solution. It may help other users...
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    cycmer Guest

    Default Re: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    OK. will do.... thought some users might be able to exucate me on the use of the two toolbars.....

  4. #4
    cycmer Guest

    Default Re: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    OK, ZA online told me to enable both.... I did that.... now it appears that only the ZA extreme security toolbar is active.. not the ZA security engine ??? is that correct?
    both show as enabled, but no toolbar

    am I protected?


    PLUS... The toolbar has a LOT OF GARBAGE ON IT.... like YOU TUBE, FlixsterMOvies. weather. facebook, Online back ups (which I can understand as ZA has a marketing argeement with them), ID Guard(, which I can understand as ZA has a marketing argeement with them)

    Do I need to have this toolbar taking up real esate? to protect me? or could I hide/disable it, and still be protected???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Default Re: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    If you get this display, then you are Fully Protected..

    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    bwitzke Guest

    Default Re: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    I would like some clarification on this. It sounds to me that if we are to make use of the functionality that we paid for (browser security) we must also required to have a toolbar visible in our browser? The direction that the industry is currently heading in is to not have the browsing window cluttered with toolbars. If toolbar access is needed for certain actions other than advertising, which hopefully we paid not to have, shouldn't we be able to hide it when we aren't using it?

    If someone explain the difference between having the engine running and having the tool bar running it would be helpful.

    If the toolbar isn't turned on does the engine have any purpose? I'm not clear on the functionality of the too add-ins.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Smile Re: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    Quote Originally Posted by bwitzke View Post
    I would like some clarification on this. It sounds to me that if we are to make use of the functionality that we paid for (browser security) we must also required to have a toolbar visible in our browser? The direction that the industry is currently heading in is to not have the browsing window cluttered with toolbars. If toolbar access is needed for certain actions other than advertising, which hopefully we paid not to have, shouldn't we be able to hide it when we aren't using it?

    If someone explain the difference between having the engine running and having the tool bar running it would be helpful.

    If the toolbar isn't turned on does the engine have any purpose? I'm not clear on the functionality of the too add-ins.

    Hi!

    sorry we are all users here
    , If you have a valid ZA license

    Please contact the ZA technical support Live Chat at the link in my signature and troubleshoot the issue with them.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,650

    Default Re: ZAES 10 - question on Browser Security

    Quote Originally Posted by cycmer View Post
    OK, ZA online told me to enable both.... I did that.... now it appears that only the ZA extreme security toolbar is active.. not the ZA security engine ??? is that correct?
    both show as enabled, but no toolbar

    am I protected?


    PLUS... The toolbar has a LOT OF GARBAGE ON IT.... like YOU TUBE, FlixsterMOvies. weather. facebook, Online back ups (which I can understand as ZA has a marketing argeement with them), ID Guard(, which I can understand as ZA has a marketing argeement with them)

    Do I need to have this toolbar taking up real esate? to protect me? or could I hide/disable it, and still be protected???
    I would check the following :

    In the GUI under INTERNET Protected tab make sure Web Security and Browser Virtualization are ON.Make sure that under Settings they are all enable to include Enable Virtualization.

    In IE8 check under Tools / Manage Add-ons and that all five Add-ons Enable.

    Under View / Toolbars make sure both Zone Alarm Browser Security Engine and Zone Alarm Toolbar are checked.

    If Zone Alarm Browser Security Engine is unchecked.ForceField is broken and unrecoverable.
     
    Sorry, Have no other suggestions since 10.0.246.000 no longer installed.Have reverted back to version 9.3.037.000.


    Footnote : I did three clean uninstalls via Add/Remove and Clean.exe utility and cleared temp files (%temp%) in Run before reinstalling.Could never recover.Site Check didn't work and Private Browser tab missing in version 246 on every install.I also redownloaded installer in case it could be corrupt.


    In versions 240, 241, 243 ForceField worked for a week or so and it did have a glow around the browser.Then ForceField broke and couldn't recover after that.When it broke I checked in View and Zone Alarm Browser Security Engine was now unchecked.Never got it to work again using IE8 and XP SP3.
     
    BTW : Click on the spanner on the far right.You can enable or disable toolbar options or Garbage there.

    Have a nice Day
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; July 19th, 2011 at 05:15 AM. Reason: Typo, rephrase

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZAES licensing question
    By Snarkley in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 11th, 2011, 09:39 PM
  2. [Solved] Internet Explorer 9 & ZA Extreme Security- turn off the Browser security
    By bonz in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 19th, 2011, 02:14 PM
  3. ZA Extreme Security [ZAES] (Junk Email Scans)
    By tygereyes in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 24th, 2010, 06:22 PM
  4. ZA Browser Security v ZAES 9.0.114.000
    By shackman in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 1st, 2009, 10:50 AM
  5. Uninstall of ZAES/ unchecking "Load at start up" doesn't disable ZAES
    By sunztorm in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 14th, 2009, 06:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •