Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

  1. #1
    qwe8 Guest

    Default Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

    I have ZoneAlarm Pro ver 10.0.250.000 installed on Win 7 Pro 64 bit.

    When I click on update, it works on it for about 30 seconds then I get "Product update: Error" as shown below.



    I have downloaded a stand alone exe installation file and tried to uninstall and install multiple times, but still every time I do the update I get
    "Product update: Error".

    Also, I have installed ZoneAlrm Pro using the same exe installation file on another computer that has Win XP, and when I do update I get
    "Product update: System Up to Date", so I do not get Error.

    Why do I get this error on computer with Win 7 only ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: Product update: Error

    Assuming its not a bad ZA installation probably something is blocking ZA to connect out, other security tools installed? Malware infection?

    Try to isolate ZA from the rest of third party utilities running on the system, like:

    1.) Click Start -> Run
    2.) Type MSConfig in the search box and click ENTER
    3.) Once in MSConfig, click the Startup Tab
    4.) Remove the checks from everything except ZLClient
    5.) Click the Services Tab
    6.) Place a check in "Hide All Microsoft Services"
    7.) Now remove checks from everything other than TrueVector Internet
    Monitor and ForceField (if present), and click OK.
    8.) Restart your computer

    If the above fails try a clean install using the ZA removal tool:

    - Remove ZA from Uninstall a program section of WIN7, reboot the PC
    - Download and run the ZA removal tool
    - Reboot the PC
    - Install latest build (250) you find here

    If it still fails then I am out of ideas, better to contact the official technical support at the link in my signature and explain the issue as well as what you have done to resolve it.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    qwe8 Guest

    Default Re: Product update: Error

    I have tried your steps 1 to 8 and that did not help.
    Also I have tried before removing with ZA removal tool and installing new 250 version, but that also did not help.

    As I mentioned, I have exactly the same software on a different (Win XP) machine and everything is working perfectly fine. Both machines have Symantec Endpoint Protection, but again I get error when doing update only on Win 7 machine.

    Anybody else have Win 7 Pro ?
    Do you have the same type of issues?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: Product update: Error

    I do and don't have your issues but I also don't have installed Symantec Endpoint Protection.

    Installing ZAP on a system with SEP is not supported nor reccomended. SEP comes with a firewall and you should not run the two at the same time even if disabled. This is regardless the fact that your system seems to work fine.

    No other suggestions from my side, sorry. Try with the official ZA support. We are all users here.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    qwe8 Guest

    Default Re: Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

    Thank you for the sugestions.

    I am a little afraid to remove ZoneAlarm, and have only SymantecEnpoint Protection, in other words I am not quite sure that SEP have a full firewall feature. I know it has a Network Treat Protection, but as I said I am not sure if that is designed to block everything that ZA would normally block.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

    I understand your fear. But I am afraid I have no further suggestions than contacting the ZA official support (link in my signature).

    Yes, as far as I know SEP comes with a firewall integrated otherwise you should have the "AntiVirus Endpoint Protection" that is the AV only solution.

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    qwe8 Guest

    Default Re: Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

    Ok, I uninstalled firewall from SEP and now my update works for Zone Alarm, but things are a little strange on Win7 PC.
    On my other PC where I have WinXP, when I want to download a file from internet I get a Zone Alarm window asking me to Run or Save As the file.

    On Win7 PC, I do not get this Zone Alarm window, instead I get the normal windows bar at the botom of the screen where it asks me to Run or Save As the file, but this is a windows functionality and it has nothing to do with Zone Alarm.

    Now, I wonder if my Zone Alarm is protecting me at all since I am not getting this window. Also, in Zone Alarm when I click on Computer, it shows "0 access attemps blocked". I was expecting to see here few attemps blocked but it is always zero.

    Is my Zone Alarm working properly on my Win7 PC?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

    Quote Originally Posted by qwe8 View Post
    Is my Zone Alarm working properly on my Win7 PC?
    You seem out of luck with ZA . No it is not working correctly. It should work the same as on XP as it does here on WIN7 (download scan). May be all of these install/remove have corrupted some registry entries. It may be not easy to ZA back functional. First:

    Did you fully removed and reinstall ZA after removing SEP (also using the clean.exe)? Did you run the norton removal tool to clean out any remainings?

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    qwe8 Guest

    Default Re: Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

    Yes, I did use Clean.exe to remove ZA and install it again from the zapSetup_100_250_000_en.exe file, but I did not use norton removal tool, and I have never heard of it. Is that the same as Clean.exe, if not, then what else does it do?

    Maybe you can give me a link where I can download that tool to try it out.

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: Product update: Error (WIN7 - ZAPRO - SEP)

    here:
    Download and run the Norton Removal Tool to uninstall your ...

    If this fails what I have seen working for fully reset ZA is to install:

    1. Previous version 9
    2. Removed it with clean.exe (without unistall it first)
    3. Reinstall version 10
    Last edited by fax; August 14th, 2011 at 12:25 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. WIN7/64 - ZAPRO: Cannot install due to unkown error
    By dorianmuthig in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 11th, 2010, 09:23 AM
  2. BSOD with ZAPro and Win7 64-bit
    By tomfitzsr in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: January 7th, 2010, 11:14 AM
  3. ZAPRO on Win7 64-Bit with no BSOD
    By hydrologic in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 7th, 2010, 10:35 AM
  4. Signature update 17-Sep-2008 22:00 eastern US
    By zaswing in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 17th, 2008, 03:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •