Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is ZAES 2012 OK with Noscript?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Snarkley Guest

    Default Is ZAES 2012 OK with Noscript?

    I plan to use ZAES 2012, Firefox 5, and Noscript. Can anyone using that combo comment if that combo works OK? Thanks.

    PS-I may also add AdBlock for Firefox later.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Is ZAES 2012 OK with Noscript?

    Uuuhm, I am not using noscript myself, so I cannot help. The principle is simple, if you are running the ZA browser virtualization you actually don't need noscript. The browser is anyway isolated from the rest of the system and data encrypted. The beauty of the ZA active sandbox is that you don't have to mess up blocking website.

    Always remember to install browser add-ons and updates with ZA virtualization turned OFF.
    For the rest you have already raised the issue of nocript and adblocking here: Forcefield and Firefox Plug-ins
    There were no major changes to forcefield, this means that what suggested should still be valid.

    I would recommend to take a trial period to test ZAES 2012 before a final upgrade.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; August 10th, 2011 at 01:25 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    braab Guest

    Default Re: Is ZAES 2012 OK with Noscript?

    Maybe I can contribute a bit here. I have had ZASS 9.3.037.000 running with Firefox 6, multiple add-ons including NoScript/ Ghostery. That ran just fine, smooth, and quick. Also I did not experience the "difficulty to install add-ons" that some people report out there.

    However...

    When I finally gave in to the continuing pop-up to upgrade to ZASS 10.0.250.000 I did end up with a lot of trouble, no internet connection at all (blocked in some way by ZASS, since it returned after disabling ZA). I also noticed during installing the 10.x version that ZA almost takes it as a given you use Internet Explorer/ MicroSoft, since it does not detect your preferred browser but tries to get you to install Bing, set conditions concerning ActiveX and so on.

    Since I (re)installed my 9.3.037 ZASS version without ForceField, and all is well, I suspect that NoScript and ForceField do not go together well. Firefox 6.0 does not give any problems with 9.3.037.
    FAX does have a point with ZA now copying a Sandboxie approach, although it disregards many other NoScript features, e.g. AdBlocking, selective Java, or Google Analytics (and other tracking) blocking.
    Perhaps essential is that ZA 10.x does, as far as I know, not give an opt-out for the ForceField installation, thus offering no user choice/ preference. Hence installing ZA 10.x will mean also installing ForceField.
    Whether my problems with ZASS 10.0.250.000 were caused by FireFox 6, NoScript, or both, I can not tell. Keep in mind however that ZA seems to prefer/ support/ fit better with MicroSoft/ Internet Explorer and IF this is an issue, it might take a while before resolved. Answers to questions concerning browser comparability (not only Firefox, but also Chrome or Safari) on this forum seem to suggest so.
    Finally, although old, I did find this by Mozilla, where user comments suggest issues with Firefox/ Noscript and Forcefield.
    http://mozillalinks.org/2007/09/zone...efox-security/
    However, at that time it was still an option whether you installed ForceField...
    Additionally, the MozillaZine Knowledge Database also published on possible issues between Firefox and ForceField:
    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser_wi...eField_enabled
    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_cr...arm_ForceField


    Hope this helps...
    Last edited by braab; August 30th, 2011 at 08:50 AM.

  4. #4
    critterjoe Guest

    Default Re: Is ZAES 2012 OK with Noscript?

    Braab:
    Thanks for the info. It is somewhat confusing since you wrote ZASS. The abbreviations can be confusing sometime.

    ZAES=ZA Extreme Security
    ZASS or ZISS=ZA Security Suite, aka ZA Internet Security Suite.

    ZAES 10 has "Forcefield" built in; i.e., the Virtual browser.
    ZISS 10 doesn't have the virtual browser; i.e. no "Forcefield".
    Both have antiphishing/site status and download protection.

    ZISS/ZASS, version 9: one previously could purchase standalone Forcefield to add to it, but this is no longer supported.

    I assume you had ZISS (or ZASS) 9.3 with no Forcefield, then upgraded to ZAES (Extreme) 10.x that does have Forcefield. So it sounds like you installed ZAES 10 instead of ZASS 10. But please clarify that if I'm confused.

    If you want to install a ZA 10 suite without Forcefield, then ZISS (Security Suite) 10.250 is the one that should be used.

    Aso note, that use for Firefox 6 has until now not been approved for any of the versions, except the update is rolling out now. ZAES will not auto-update yet, however, but other paid versions may. Refer to this posting by the Forum-Moderator concerning Firefox 6:

    http://forums.zonealarm.com/showthre...hlight=firefox
    Last edited by critterjoe; August 30th, 2011 at 05:47 AM.

  5. #5
    braab Guest

    Default Re: Is ZAES 2012 OK with Noscript?

    Well critterjoe, now you got me confused too! ;-)
    Since I can't believe CheckPoint is now giving away freebees, I looked again for you...

    Under About it says:
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:....
    TrueVector version:...
    Driver version:...
    Anti-virus engine version:...
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:...
    AntiSpam version:...

    so that would be ZASS right?
    Since I did not change my subscription since I first took it in 2004, I assume the new 10.025.00 I installed when prompted was also ZASS, i.e. ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite.

    When I ran into trouble after I installed the 10.x version, I did take a look at all processes running with ProcessExplorer. And there, clearly to see where a root process (ISO, ISD, ISIW... or something), with attached ForceField.exe (specifically with the switch icon="hidden").

    Whether it should be in the tin I purchased, I can not tell you. Nevertheless, I do know I have a multi year subscription for ZASS (ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite) and after installing the new 10.0.250.000 version I did end up with the ZoneAlarm process ForceField.exe running, and during installation I was never offered an "do-not-install-force-field" option.
    Last edited by braab; August 30th, 2011 at 08:51 AM.

  6. #6
    critterjoe Guest

    Default Re: Is ZAES 2012 OK with Noscript?

    I can't explain that, so I'll have to let one of the Gurus or Forum Moderator tell you why you are seeing any forcefield process/components in ZASS. ZASS 10 doesn't have virtual browsing, but whether it uses any other components I don't know. The other option is to have a free Live Chat with Tech Support available 24x7 through the ZoneAlarm website.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is there a User Guide for ZAES 2012 yet?
    By Snarkley in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2011, 01:54 PM
  2. Forcefield plus NoScript
    By Snarkley in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 27th, 2010, 04:16 PM
  3. Noscript add-in
    By creteip in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 16th, 2009, 12:28 AM
  4. Uninstall of ZAES/ unchecking "Load at start up" doesn't disable ZAES
    By sunztorm in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 14th, 2009, 06:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •