Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: V10 change - manual updates no longer possible

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    rmilling Guest

    Default V10 change - manual updates no longer possible

    If automatic updates (signatures and product) are disabled, the manual "update" function is greyed out -- manual updates are not possible unless automatic updates are enabled.

    It is inappropriate for me to have any automatic updates enabled on my system, so the first thing I do when I install a product with such features is to disable them. I perform manual updates, exclusively and frequently.

    I have been using manual updates exclusively with ZAES for many years. I just upgraded to v10, renewed my annual subscription, then discovered that it is no longer possible to perform only manual updates. Tech support just confirmed that this change in behavior introduced with v10 is by design.

    ~~snip~~
    Last edited by GeorgeV; August 15th, 2011 at 01:05 PM. Reason: off Topic comments removed for Violation of Terms of Use Policy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: V10 change - manual updates no longer possible

    Hi;

    This Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..

    Please contact the ZA Customer support at the Live Chat link in my Signature and ask for a Refund if you have recently renewed your subscription..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    winecity Guest

    Talking Re: V10 change - manual updates no longer possible

    Late, I know, but I have the same problem as you. Posted it some months ago to Zonelabs support. They said, they will fix it in some later release or so. Now I'm waiting.

    Workaround: switch "Update check" - "Antivirus update" to "enable".
    After that, the "update" button is available, you can do the manual update.
    After that, switch "Antivirus update" to "disable".
    A little bit uncomfortable - but it works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Smile Re: V10 change - manual updates no longer possible

    Quote Originally Posted by winecity View Post
    Late, I know, but I have the same problem as you. Posted it some months ago to Zonelabs support. They said, they will fix it in some later release or so. Now I'm waiting.

    Workaround: switch "Update check" - "Antivirus update" to "enable".
    After that, the "update" button is available, you can do the manual update.
    After that, switch "Antivirus update" to "disable".
    A little bit uncomfortable - but it works.

    Hi;

    This Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, or around the World,
    without All the Details about your computer and Software that you failed to provide, without our ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    Give the Exact Type and version of Zone Alarm used, Windows Version used, Browser type and version, other security tools installed..

    The More information you post the more likely users here will be able to understand the issue and try to help.

    Sticky: "When will the Next Zone Alarm be made Available?" <== Click Here
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: V10 change - manual updates no longer possible

    I would generally not recommend to disable the antivirus updates and to maintain at least the default frequency. There are thousands of new viruses released every hour. It is essential to keep it updated. If for whatever reason you cannot maintain the AV on autoupdate then better to consider a product you can keep always active.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Auto updates loading, even with manual selected
    By terra in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 9th, 2011, 04:58 AM
  2. Manual Product Updates
    By bmcrose in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2009, 08:27 AM
  3. Making Updates Manual
    By strifemit in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 8th, 2009, 11:09 AM
  4. Automatic Updates - manual
    By engsrvcs in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 29th, 2008, 01:36 AM
  5. Are manual AV updates possible? (manual anti-virus updates?)
    By webwanderer in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 17th, 2007, 05:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •