Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

  1. #1
    Snarkley Guest

    Default Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

    Win XP SP3, new installation ZAES. I removed ZAP 9.3.0.37 and standalone Forcefield. Ran clean.exe. Here is the product info, which differs in some ways from what Guru George has posted it should look like:

    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 10.0.250.000
    vsmon version: 10.0.250.000
    Driver version: 10.0.250.000
    Anti-virus engine version: 8.1.8.79
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version: 1058961568
    AntiSpam version: 6.3.1.4971
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.322.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.53.235
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155

    It shows an antiSpam version that Guru George doesn't show; the driver version is higher, and it shows a different Forcefield Spyware Scanner version. Is it picking up remnants of the old standalone version? What is the correct method for removing ZAP 9.3.0.37 when it is coupled to standalone Forcefield?

    Plus in the Program Control list, Firefox is not showing up. Internet Explorer is, but not Firefox. Firefox is working, but no program permissions are showing in the program control list; i.e., looking at the list, you'd think it hasn't run. Any reason a program would not show up in the list? Thanks.
    Last edited by Snarkley; August 30th, 2011 at 01:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Snarkley Guest

    Default Re: Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

    For some reason the message is not formatting correctly. What I see is NOT what I get. I have it in paragraphs, and it's all run together.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

    Quote Originally Posted by Snarkley View Post
    For some reason the message is not formatting correctly. What I see is NOT what I get. I have it in paragraphs, and it's all run together.
    I don't have that problem? Maybe a problem with your configuration?
    as you can see below,
    it is Formated correctly?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    WinXP SP3 (32-Bit)Vista SP2 (32-Bit and 64-Bit) Win7 (32-Bit and 64-Bit)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version:9.3.037.000
    TrueVector version:9.3.037.000
    Driver version:9.1.522.000
    Anti-virus engine version:8.0.2.48
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:1058958560 <== New
    AntiSpam version:6.0.0.2385 <== (on 64bit OS )
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security 1.5.152.14
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner 1.5.53.235
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database 04.155
    Last edited by GeorgeV; August 30th, 2011 at 01:43 PM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Snarkley Guest

    Default Re: Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

    Hi, George:
    The formatting of my message in the forum has been solved by switching to a different browser; there was no problem with your message formatting. When I posted mine, it was all run together, but I edited it and straightened it out with Firefox instead of IE.

    .My questions are about the items I show in red, which differed from your posted versions, and whether my standalone Forcefield was not completely removed. The example you posted above is 9.3.0.37, and I posted 10.250. If you compare your 10.250 to my 10.250 above, you will see the differences in what I put in red.

    And also I don't know why Firefox does not show in the program list. That makes me worry if other programs are showing either. I have about 31 programs showing, including IE, but not Firefox.I'll see what Live Chat has to say before deciding whether to continue.
    Last edited by Snarkley; August 30th, 2011 at 02:23 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

    Quote Originally Posted by Snarkley View Post
    Hi, George:The formatting of my message in the forum has been solved by switching to a different browser; there was no problem with your message formatting. When I posted mine, it was all run together, but I edited it and straightened it out with Firefox instead of IE.

    .My questions are about the items I show in red, which differed from your posted versions, and whether my standalone Forcefield was not completely removed. And also why Firefox does not show in the program list. That makes me worry if other programs are showing either. I have about 31 programs showing, including IE, but not Firefox.I'll see what Live Chat has to say before deciding whether to continue.
    Thank you for your Feedback..

    in ZA 9.3.037 The Posted Data may differ Depending on if you running ZA on a WinXP 32 Bit, or Windows 7 64-bit OS..

    In any case Please read the Disclaimer at the bottom of that post
    :
    Note: this Post is a Volunteer effort for Comparision purposes ONLY and MAY be updated 6 to 16 times or more per day..If your Dat file ver. # is equal or greater than the above posted # then your AV is updating ok...
    Last edited by GeorgeV; August 30th, 2011 at 02:25 PM. Reason: updated
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Snarkley Guest

    Default Re: Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

    Please forget about version 9.3.0.37. The versions info I posted in the first message were after I newly installed 10.250, having removed 9.3.037 with standalone Forcefield. My AV DAT file version is up to date. My question was about the 10.250 driver version which is different than yours, as well as the other two items. I am not using 9.3.037, but it may still be showing the standalone Forcefield scanner engine.. Plus I can't figure out why Firefox is not showing up at all in the program list.

    Thanks, but this is not going to be sorted out in the forum since we're going in circles.. I will try with Live Chat. Y'all have a good day.
    Last edited by Snarkley; August 30th, 2011 at 02:46 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: Firefox not showing in Program Control, plus weird

    as I stated in last post..

    what you see may be related to what Version Of Windows, and if 32-bit OS or 64-Bit OS..

    On 64-bit OS the AntiSpam data will not be displayed in the About file..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; September 1st, 2011 at 12:38 PM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 18th, 2009, 03:52 PM
  2. VPN showing multiple times in Program Control. Can't get through.
    By spnow in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 8th, 2008, 02:38 PM
  3. Forcefield Toolbar not showing up in Firefox 3.0
    By zargnut in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 8th, 2008, 02:51 AM
  4. weird program behavior
    By truelori in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 30th, 2007, 01:51 PM
  5. Weird program listed in Program Control | Programs
    By mcm in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 01:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •