Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: CPU resources being hogged

  1. #1
    geejay Guest

    Default CPU resources being hogged

    I am using ZA Extreme Security 10.0.241.000 with XP SP3 and Firefox 5.0
    Since my last upgrade I have encountered problems with excessive cpu usage and I'm pretty sure ZA is the culprit. Often I find ZA is conducting a scan on startup and while that is going on everything else freezes. Task Manager tells me cpu usage is 100% so nothing else will run and I have to reboot.
    I have used ZA for years but not had this problem before. Is there something I should know that hasn't been advised?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: CPU resources being hogged

    The ZA version installed does not support firefox 5. You should remove it and install the latest build 250.

    Please note that we are all users here, if you have a valid license you can contact, free of charge, the ZA technical support at the link in my signature.

    Also check the KB article at the support site on high CPU for further guidance on what to do.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    geejay Guest

    Default Re: CPU resources being hogged

    I assumed I would always have the latest build as I am on automatic update. I just checked update and message says I am up to date (241).

    How else would I know there is a later build?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: CPU resources being hogged

    Check support site for lastest version. Updates are only pushed out automatically for major releases or after sometimes.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. vsmon.exe needs 33% cpu resources with cygwin xwin.exe
    By Robak in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 5th, 2010, 08:23 AM
  2. 90%+ resources used
    By quim in forum Malware Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: August 30th, 2008, 03:45 AM
  3. vsmon and zlclient using all CPU resources and site privacy does not work
    By rytlcj in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 25th, 2007, 03:21 AM
  4. Whenever i'm downloading something VSMON.exe takes up a lot of cpu resources.
    By fissure in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 6th, 2007, 05:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •