Configuring a new network connection:

When your computer connects to a network, you can decide whether to place that network in the Trusted Zone or in the Public Zone.

ZoneAlarm helps you make this decision by determining whether a detected LAN network is public or private, secure or unsecured. It will make a default choice for you, but opens a new network dialog for you so you can confirm or change the choice.
  • Placing a network in the Trusted Zone enables you to share files, printers, and other resources with other computers on that network. Networks you know and trust, such as your home or business LAN and known protected wireless networks, should go in the Trusted Zone.
  • Placing a network in the Public Zone prevents you from sharing resources with other computers on that network and protects you from the security risks associated with resource sharing.
  • Unknown networks and most wireless networks, even secured wireless networks, should go in the Internet Zone.
In This Section

Using the Network Configuration Wizard
About Wireless Network Configuration
See Also

Configuring for networks and resources