Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

  1. #1
    dwarren2 Guest

    Default Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    Since ZAP 10 will not install since I have Avast already installed, I tried to find out if ZAP includes antivirus. Noiwhere do I see it stated that it does.
    I hesitant to uninstall AVAST until I know that ZAP 10 has antivirus protection.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    No, ZA PRO does not contain an Antivirus component, you may want to review here the different features in each version of ZA.
    http://www.zonealarm.com/security/en...r-security.htm

    Ensure you have the right installer of ZAPRO, this one:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...250_000_en.exe

    If you have problem installing and you have downloaded the right installer, remove AVAST, install ZA, install back AVAST.
    You seem to have a long standing issue with ZA and AVAST, probably better to move to an alternative firewall that works well with your system rather than getting frustrated for so long.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; October 1st, 2011 at 09:10 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    dwarren2 Guest

    Default Re: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    Thanks. I haven't done anything further since the last post. Just trying to figure out why 10 won't install when there is another antivirus program running. And trying to decide if I should end my automatic yearly renewal and just stay with 9.
    Has it been verified that you can reinstall avast after installing 10? Just wondering what the difference between 9 and 10 in this respect?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    Hi;
    ZAPro does not contain an Antivirus component.

    a.) This topic has been discussed and resolved successfully several times..

    Please use the Forum "SEARCH" feature and look for Threads about "AVAST" for a solution..

    b.) also If you have a valid ZA license

    You can click on the Support link in my Signature then click on the LIVE CHAT Link at the top Right side of the SUPPORT page and troubleshoot the issue with Technical Support. and advise them that you are using AVAST and version..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; October 4th, 2011 at 03:38 AM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    dwarren2 Guest

    Default Re: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeV View Post
    Hi;

    a.) This topic has been discussed and resolved successfully several times..

    Please use the Forum "SEARCH" feature and look for Threads about "AVAST" for a solution..

    b.) also If you have a valid ZA license

    You can click on the Support link in my Signature then click on the LIVE CHAT Link at the top Right side of the SUPPORT page and troubleshoot the issue with Technical Support. and advise them that you are using AVAST and version..
    I did do a search first. I did not see any threads that referred to 10 and Avast working together. The one thread that I did see was the one I started originally. That did not work. Do you have any links to info that uninstalling Avast, installing 10 and then reinstalling Avast actually worked. That is the info I am looking for. I don't want to be the guinea pig.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    This Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..

    This is why I suggested option b.)

    b.) also If you have a valid ZA license

    You can click on the Support link in my Signature then click on the LIVE CHAT Link at the top Right side of the SUPPORT page and troubleshoot the issue with Technical Support. and advise them that you are using AVAST and version of avast..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    I am very sorry but another post needed to go. Please keep on topic.

    If you have useful information about installing ZA on AVAST you are welcomed to post for the benefit of other users otherwise I will be forced to close this thread. We can't address here waiting time or quality of line or quality of response from technical support. We also can't replace the ZA official support. Any other offtopic post will be removed without further notice.

    Thank you in advance for your understanding and support.
    Last edited by fax; October 3rd, 2011 at 11:55 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    bbiskin Guest

    Default Re: Does ZAP 10 contain an antivirus component?

    I believe I had the same problem. I uninstalled Avast! 6.0, then installed ZAP10. Then reinstalled Avast!6.0. Avast and ZAP now play together nicely. [Just don't ask why--I'm clueless.]

    Good luck!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. missing component ZA automatic found missing component..
    By hedgecentre in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 27th, 2008, 03:19 PM
  2. Is ZAP 8.59 Norton Antivirus "aware" ?
    By grazie in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 4th, 2008, 08:03 PM
  3. New to the forum may I ask a basic question ZAP/Antivirus please?
    By paulwm in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 29th, 2007, 06:52 AM
  4. ZAP Blocks Norton AntiVirus Scan
    By lmcdavid in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 15th, 2006, 08:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •