Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [SOLVED] How to change Home Page on ZA10.0.250.000 --> Removed the toolbar

  1. #1
    luis_p Guest

    Default [SOLVED] How to change Home Page on ZA10.0.250.000 --> Removed the toolbar

    When I try to change my Home Page, it appears to succeed.
    However, when I reboot, my original Home Page as defined by ZoneAlarm (http://search.conduit.com/?ctid=CT26...earchSource=13) is still there.
    How do I enable Zone Alarm to allow me to change my Home Page?

    Operating System:W7
    Browser: Firefox 7.0.1
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Free 9.2.106.000

  2. #2
    luis_p Guest

    Default Re: How to change Home Page

    I would like to emphasize that the control of my home page is very important to me - as I use some 12 pages as my "home page".

    If ZA forces another home page, that means that I have to load every day those 12 pages one by one...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: How to change Home Page

    Hi;

    Zone Alarm does not Support FireFox 7 yet..

    ZoneAlarm does not support Firefox 6 at this time. We are working on an upgrade so that will be supported.

    ZoneAlarm will support IE8, IE9, FF3 and FF4, FF5 with current 10.x versions of ZoneAlarm.



    Forum Moderator
    Here is another recent Post by the Forum Moderator in the ZA Free Section:

    Well we don't support anything but the latest version.

    As of today that is 10.0.250.000

    If your willing to run that then you can get support by live chat.

    Since we don't have lots of users with this issue its probably your PC and a one off issue, not a bug that effects all or even 1% of the user base.

    Forum Moderator

    ZoneAlarm version 10.0.250.000
    • Added support for Firefox 5 and Internet Explorer 9 for ZoneAlarm Security toolbar
    NOTE: Firefox 6 & 7 support is planned for the Next ZA 10.1x release no ETA at this time.
    __________________

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: How to change Home Page

    The easiest approach would be to remove ZA and then re-install it but without the toolbar. The more complex one is to patch your current installation.

    If you google you will find some useful information about it. For example, here: http://thesietch.org/mysietch/keith/...m-firefox-3-x/

    The latter approach is at your own risk.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    luis_p Guest

    Default Re: How to change Home Page

    Hi fax. Many thanks for your help. I uninstalled the Conduit ZA toolbar (you can do that without having to uninstall the whole ZA, at least in W7) and it seems that my problem is solved.

    However, it is surprising & puzzling that ZA, which is supposed to protect you from all evils, is associated with a program that hijacks your homepage. I have read in other forums of people that were leaving ZA because of that...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: How to change Home Page

    You're welcome!

    During install you had the options related to the search engine. This is, if I remember well, off by default. If you have thicked it by mistake you get your search been modified by the toolbar if not everything will stay the same. (see screenshot here: http://download.cnet.com/2300-10435_4-10003528.html)

    This is normally not the reason of users leaving ZA. They have full frexibility in installing the different components of the toolbar. The issue is that firewalls are nowadays already well integrated in the system and source of infections are not anymore strictly linked to having a firewall or not. Most of the infections comes from the web and surfing. This is more likely the cause of users leaving ZA or similar free solutions.

    I am anyway closing this thread since the issue is resolved.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; October 18th, 2011 at 07:13 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 22nd, 2011, 12:10 PM
  2. [SOLVED] ForceField Toolbar disappeared when selecting Short Toolbar
    By palzero in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 5th, 2010, 11:28 PM
  3. Typo in ZA Pro 9.1 Change.log page
    By poppe in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2009, 07:17 AM
  4. How to change Home Page
    By morey in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 20th, 2007, 05:45 AM
  5. cannot change home page in internet explorer with zone alarm 6.5 installed.
    By philbee in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 16th, 2006, 06:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •