Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: What happend to the traffic monitor in the notification area?> that Feature is gone..

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    qwertybollocks Guest

    Angry What happend to the traffic monitor in the notification area?> that Feature is gone..

    Since installing ZA Free Firewall Version 10.1.056.000 over version 9, I've lost the traffic monitor in the notification area.
    I have a ZA icon but it doesn't change with traffic. Should it?

    XPSP3, Avast Free version 6.0.1289

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Default Re: Traffic monitor awol.

    I've lost the traffic monitor in the notification area.
    I have a ZA icon but it doesn't change with traffic. Should it?
    NO!

    Sorry that Tray Icon feature was REMOVED in Ver. 10, it was a plain and simple fluff feature and thats all with no real purpose in Protecting your Comuter.
    Last edited by GeorgeV; November 14th, 2011 at 04:21 AM. Reason: updated

  3. #3
    qwertybollocks Guest

    Default Re: Traffic monitor awol.

    Thanks GeorgeV.

    Incidentally, installation over the top of the old version went well. A couple of reboots and it was done. Painless compared to previous updates.

    Only glitch so far has been internet protection switching itself off for no apparent reason. Only realised when I noticed the icon had gone from the notification area.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Default Re: Traffic monitor awol.

    Quote Originally Posted by qwertybollocks View Post
    Thanks GeorgeV.

    Incidentally, installation over the top of the old version went well. A couple of reboots and it was done. Painless compared to previous updates.

    Only glitch so far has been internet protection switching itself off for no apparent reason. Only realised when I noticed the icon had gone from the notification area.
    Try this..

    try Resetting the DEFAULT Settings
    Click on Tools/ Preferences/ click on Reset Default button..

  5. #5
    qwertybollocks Guest

    Default Re: Traffic monitor awol.

    GeorgeV

    "Incidentally, installation over the top of the old version went well" - well maybe not so well.
    I had repeated instances of "Internet at risk. Your web browsing is safe from phishing. Fix now." Tried resetting defaults but no improvement.
    So I uninstalled using the ZA utility and reinstalled. Hopefully it'll behave itself now.

    Two points
    1. Internet at risk. Your web browsing is safe from phishing. What exactly is that telling me? Seems to be a contradiction.

    2. While agreeing that the traffic monitor was, to a degree, a "fluff feature", it did have the benefit of being an obvious tell tale if ZA had stopped working. Any plans to incorporate some sort of fault indication in the notification icon, say colour change or blinking?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Default Re: Traffic monitor awol.

    Quote Originally Posted by qwertybollocks View Post
    GeorgeV

    "Incidentally, installation over the top of the old version went well" - well maybe not so well.

    Two points
    1. Internet at risk. Your web browsing is safe from phishing. What exactly is that telling me? Seems to be a contradiction.

    2. While agreeing that the traffic monitor was, to a degree, a "fluff feature", it did have the benefit of being an obvious tell tale if ZA had stopped working. Any plans to incorporate some sort of fault indication in the notification icon, say colour change or blinking?
    Thank you for your Feedback..

    1.) Internet at risk.,may be due to Conflict with other Security programs blocking ZoneAlarm Security Toolbar.

    2.) No, Sorry there are no Plans at this time to return the Traffic monitor.
    or anything like it..

  7. #7
    hypnotist Guest

    Angry Traffic Monitor Gone In New Version=Bad

    Like others here I have noticed the Traffic Monitor RED/GREEN feature has been removed from the latest version of the software.

    Whilist I have read that it was described as spoof feature or something similar, it was a very handy tool ! with the new BT HUB v3 no longer showing a flashing wifi traffic the Traffic Monitor feature gave me a instant way of quickly checking my download was indeen still running. If the green download stopped flashing or the red did not flash when trying a upload this was a fast reliable way to see something was amiss.

    Now were gone 2 steps back and like others here I will be dropping back to the earlier version of the software until a fix is made ? maybe giving the option of on/off for those who didn't like it, if it does not come back then its time to look for another firewall product that will show traffic, like the other free cheap one do.

    ~~Bleep~~

    Now I have 30+mins to drop back to the older version aagghh on all my PC's4
    Last edited by GeorgeV; November 13th, 2011 at 04:19 PM. Reason: comment violates "TOU" policy

  8. #8
    Tori123 Guest

    Default Taskbar

    I've just installed the new version of Zonealarm free firewall version 10.1.065.000 just wanted to know if its normal not to have the red and green traffic volume control going up and down in the system tray?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Smile Re: Taskbar

    Hi;

    Sorry that Tray Icon feature was REMOVED in Ver. 10, it was a plain and simple fluff feature and thats all with no real purpose in the Protection of your computer by Zone Alarm..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; November 13th, 2011 at 04:15 PM.

  10. #10
    Tori123 Guest

    Default Re: Taskbar

    Thank you!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Version 9.2.106.000 - Hangs, Traffic Monitor, BSOD
    By gameraccounts in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 15th, 2011, 09:43 AM
  2. Zone Alarm Pro and Windows XP's notification area (icons missing!)
    By asheem in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 7th, 2008, 02:19 AM
  3. Traffic Monitor
    By vettetech in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 14th, 2008, 06:08 AM
  4. ZoneAlarm Control Center icon missing from taskbar notification area.
    By justanotherguy in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 5th, 2006, 02:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •