Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Folding at home help needed

  1. #1
    Vgolfmaster Guest

    Default Folding at home help needed

    Hi,

    I have recently installed the free version of the Zone Alarm firewall software (version 9.2.106.000) and I am now unable to send completed work unit data from folding at home that is running on my computer. I know it is the firewall stopping it, as I can disable the firewall and the work unit results send just fine.

    I have one instance running on my cpu (as a service) and one running off my gpu. I have entered the client and the executable for each in the programs area and allowed full access for all, but am still unable to send these results. I also am NOT getting prompted to allow or deny the sending of this data when it is trying, it is as if it is not trying to send, yet it is.

    Here is the log when it is unable to send:

    [03:28:55] + Attempting to send results [November 7 03:28:55 UTC]
    [03:28:55] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [03:29:16] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [03:29:16] (Got status 500)
    [03:29:16] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [03:29:16] (171.64.65.64:8080)
    [03:29:16] + Retrying using alternative port
    [03:29:37] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [03:29:37] (Got status 500)
    [03:29:37] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [03:29:37] (171.64.65.64:80)
    [03:29:37] - Error: Could not transmit unit 07 (completed November 7) to work server.
    [03:29:37] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.


    [03:29:37] + Attempting to send results [November 7 03:29:37 UTC]
    [03:29:37] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [03:29:40] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [03:29:40] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [03:29:40] (171.67.108.26:8080)
    [03:29:40] + Retrying using alternative port
    [03:29:43] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [03:29:43] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [03:29:43] (171.67.108.26:80)
    [03:29:43] Could not transmit unit 07 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
    [03:29:43] + Closed connections
    Any help getting this version of ZA configured to allow this would be greatly appreciated. Right now I have to disable the firewall to let it upload the results, then re-enable to firewall, very 'un-handy'.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    The issue was already discussed here:
    http://forums.zonealarm.com/showthre...093#post291093

    with the following conclusion:

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    I know that in the past folding have had several different clients, command prompt GUI, version and some other. Plus they have a ton of different version you can run.

    Honestly this will be so low on the radar as far as a fix. Its not an app every one runs and is freeware.

    I personally have ran this in the past as the command line version with no issues with ZA but that was 2 years ago.

    There could be an issue in the latest code for Folding too.

    Have you even approached the very large community of folder and asked if anyone else has this issue? Surely at least one other person must run ZA.
    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,640

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    If ZA is actually the cause then it would log the blocked attempts in the log section.

    You can find whats being blocked and then add it to the trusted zone.

    If you don't see anything in the firewall, Program or OSfirewall Logs being blocked then its not ZA.
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Vgolfmaster Guest

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    I don't agree with the input about it not being blocked by ZA if it isn't in the logs. If closing ZA allows the data to be sent, which has been witnessed by me as well as the gentleman in the linked thread from above, I think it is fairly safe to assume it is ZA blocking these uploads.

    In any case, I'll move over to that related thread and allow this one to be closed, no sense duplicating any of our efforts.

    Thanks for the replies, they are appreciated.

  5. #5
    Vgolfmaster Guest

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    Spoke too soon, the other thread just got closed for some reason. I just turned off ZA's program control, and here is how f@h reacted:

    [05:56:17] + Attempting to send results [November 9 05:56:17 UTC]
    [05:56:17] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:56:38] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:56:38] (Got status 500)
    [05:56:38] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:56:38] (171.64.65.64:8080)
    [05:56:38] + Retrying using alternative port
    [05:56:59] + Results successfully sent

    [05:56:59] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@Home.
    [05:56:59] + Number of Units Completed: 2346


    So, it at least appears that is in fact a port being blocked by ZA. This is good, but it sure would be better if I could unblock the default behavior. Any ideas, I don't see this option anywhere in the ZA menu.

  6. #6
    Vgolfmaster Guest

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    OK, I finally gave up and uninstalled the new version, and installed 9.2.044. The good news is that it asked me for permission for folding at home when it tried to send a work unit, I allowed access, and waited. It tried several times, and still could not send. It tried using several ports, and was unable to send.

    I have the internet zone set to Medium, and the trusted zone set to medium. I have yet to find an option in ZA to configure particular ports for f@h to communicate. Does ZA no longer have this functionality? Is anyone from ZA available on these threads to address this?

    Here is my log file, so you can see what I am describing:

    Code:
    [05:12:02] Folding@home Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
    [05:12:06] CoreStatus = 64 (100)
    [05:12:06] Sending work to server
    [05:12:06] Project: 6801 (Run 8972, Clone 0, Gen 82)
    [05:12:06] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
    
    
    [05:12:06] + Attempting to send results [November 15 05:12:06 UTC]
    [05:12:06] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:12:31] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:12:31]   (Got status 500)
    [05:12:31] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:12:31]     (171.64.65.64:8080)
    [05:12:31] + Retrying using alternative port
    [05:12:52] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:12:52]   (Got status 500)
    [05:12:52] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:12:52]     (171.64.65.64:80)
    [05:12:52] - Error: Could not transmit unit 02 (completed November 15) to work server.
    [05:12:52]   Keeping unit 02 in queue.
    [05:12:52] Project: 6801 (Run 8972, Clone 0, Gen 82)
    [05:12:52] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
    
    
    [05:12:52] + Attempting to send results [November 15 05:12:52 UTC]
    [05:12:52] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:13:13] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:13:13]   (Got status 500)
    [05:13:13] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:13:13]     (171.64.65.64:8080)
    [05:13:13] + Retrying using alternative port
    [05:13:34] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:13:34]   (Got status 500)
    [05:13:34] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:13:34]     (171.64.65.64:80)
    [05:13:34] - Error: Could not transmit unit 02 (completed November 15) to work server.
    [05:13:34] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
    
    
    [05:13:34] + Attempting to send results [November 15 05:13:34 UTC]
    [05:13:34] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:13:37] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:13:37] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:13:37]     (171.67.108.26:8080)
    [05:13:37] + Retrying using alternative port
    [05:13:39] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:13:39] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:13:39]     (171.67.108.26:80)
    [05:13:39]   Could not transmit unit 02 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
    [05:13:39] - Preparing to get new work unit...
    [05:13:39] Cleaning up work directory
    [05:13:39] + Attempting to get work packet
    [05:13:39] Passkey found
    [05:13:39] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:13:39] - Connecting to assignment server
    [05:13:40] - Successful: assigned to (171.67.108.54).
    [05:13:40] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
    [05:13:40] Loaded queue successfully.
    [05:13:40] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:13:41] Project: 6801 (Run 8972, Clone 0, Gen 82)
    [05:13:41] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
    
    
    [05:13:41] + Attempting to send results [November 15 05:13:41 UTC]
    [05:13:41] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:14:02] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:14:02]   (Got status 500)
    [05:14:02] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:14:02]     (171.64.65.64:8080)
    [05:14:02] + Retrying using alternative port
    [05:14:23] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:14:23]   (Got status 500)
    [05:14:23] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:14:23]     (171.64.65.64:80)
    [05:14:23] - Error: Could not transmit unit 02 (completed November 15) to work server.
    [05:14:23] - Read packet limit of 540015616... Set to 524286976.
    
    
    [05:14:23] + Attempting to send results [November 15 05:14:23 UTC]
    [05:14:23] Gpu type=3 species=30.
    [05:14:25] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:14:25] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:14:25]     (171.67.108.26:8080)
    [05:14:25] + Retrying using alternative port
    [05:14:28] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [05:14:28] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [05:14:28]     (171.67.108.26:80)
    [05:14:28]   Could not transmit unit 02 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
    [05:14:28] + Closed connections
    Any help getting this figured out would be greatly appreciated. Windows firewall is off, an my AV program is Avast, which did not block f@h before the installation of the ZA firewall.

    tia for any other suggestions.

  7. #7
    Vgolfmaster Guest

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    I also just found the custom port information in the help tutorial, which says to select 'custom' within the firewall for either the trusted zone or the internet zone. Neither of the two version of ZA that I have tried have this functionality (no custom option).

    Is this a limitation of the free versions?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    [QUOTE=Vgolfmaster;291786]I also just found the custom port information in the help tutorial, which says to select 'custom' within the firewall for either the trusted zone or the internet zone. Neither of the two version of ZA that I have tried have this functionality (no custom option).

    Is this a limitation of the free versions?[/QUOTE]

    Hi;

    Yes, it may be a limitation of the free versions,
    I have not used the FREE version in over 5 years so maybe other users of the ZA Free ver. 10 can confirm that..

    All I know is the Custom column has always been in the Paid versions..

    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Vgolfmaster Guest

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    Here are some visuals to help explain what is going on here. Admittedly, I tried some other software and didn't like it, so there was an uninstall of ZA and a re-install about a week or so ago. Since reinstalling ZA, everything was fine and both clients on this machine were uploading with no issues. Yesterday one client started with the same behavior, then today the other started.

    Same scenario. When the upload fails, I shut off ZA and restart the client, and everything sends perfectly. Here are the newest examples, in case anyone can offer any ideas of what the heck is going on.

    With ZA Running:



    Then when I shut down ZA and restart the cleint:



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Folding at home help needed

    Have you tried to look for support from folding at home? As far as I can see there are not issue with ZA and the software from other users. May be you have some other software installed that interact with system and ZA causing indirectly the issue?

    I would try also try with the latest ZAfree 10.1.065.000 while booting selectively. Like this:

    You don't say the version of OS you use, so I will wild guess.

    1.) Click Start -> Run
    2.) Type MSConfig in the run box (or search box in VISTA) and click OK (ENTER in VISTA)
    3.) Once in MSConfig, click the Startup Tab
    4.) Remove the checks from everything except forcefield.exe and zatray.exe
    5.) Click the Services Tab
    6.) Place a check in "Hide All Microsoft Services"
    7.) Now remove checks from everything other than TrueVector Internet
    Monitor and ZoneAlarm ForceField (if present), and click OK.
    8.) Restart your computer

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Folding @ Home Upload Problem
    By bbiskin in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 10th, 2011, 07:08 PM
  2. Serious Help Needed
    By jigsawearth in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: March 25th, 2009, 02:26 PM
  3. Help Needed (ZASS - AV)
    By dusty_v in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 16th, 2009, 06:01 AM
  4. ZoneAlarm 8.0.020.000 has issues with folding@home
    By penguinboy in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2008, 05:26 AM
  5. HELP NEEDED
    By john_hird in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 17th, 2006, 05:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •