Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ZA 10.1.065.000 - URGENT Security Engine Error, Help! >Unckeck Toolbar durring Instal

  1. #1
    sodapop554 Guest

    Default ZA 10.1.065.000 - URGENT Security Engine Error, Help! >Unckeck Toolbar durring Instal

    As of a few minutes ago I updated my Zone Alarm free firewall to the following version:

    ZoneAlarm Free Firewall version: 10.1.065.000
    vsmon version: 10.1.065.000
    Driver version: 10.0.217.000
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.350.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.350.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155

    After this I opened my Firefox browser and was requested to verify the Security Engine add-on. Upon doing so I right clicked in the blank area of my browser to see that the "Zone Alarm Security Community Toolbar" was unchecked like I wanted so that it still works just is hidden. However I also saw something labeled "Zone Alarm Security Engine" right below it which was also unchecked. Curious I tried to check it off and see what would happen. I then got the following Java Script Application error message:

    unload: [Exception..."Component returned failure code: 0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE) [nsIObserverService.removerObserver]" nsresult: "0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://trustchecker/content/trustchecker.js :: <TOP_LEVEL> :: line: 991" data: no]

    What does all this mean? Do I have to reinstall my entire ZoneAlarm free firewall now? Please I need an answer ASAP if in fact this means I'm unprotected.
    Last edited by sodapop554; November 12th, 2011 at 02:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    First check that your are on ff8, if not update it. Then I would simply try to check back the ZA engine ff and see if it work. If not, try to reinstall.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    sodapop554 Guest

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    First check that your are on ff8, if not update it. Then I would simply try to check back the ZA engine ff and see if it work. If not, try to reinstall.

    I have Firefox 8 & it unchecks it self every time I close my browser. In addition according to ZoneAlarm itself the Security Engine & all features are working fine. Furthermore when I view the ZoneAlarm Security Engine via Firefox add-ons it says it's working as well. Is the ZoneAlarm Security Engine a toolbar itself? Because that's where it's being listed in that right click menu for toolbars along with: Menu Bar, Navigation Toolbar, Bookmarks Toolbar & Add-on Bar. Even though everything else says it's working does it still mean it isn't if that 1 thing doesn't stay checked?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    Its the engine for the site checking feature in the toolbar. I am sorry I have not further suggestions to resolve your issue.
    May be other users here could suggest you other workarounds.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    sodapop554 Guest

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Its the engine for the site checking feature in the toolbar. I am sorry I have not further suggestions to resolve your issue.
    May be other users here could suggest you other workarounds.
    Oh ok, so is that component necessary for my Firewall to protect me properly? I ask because every time I visit a site I'm unfamiliar with I always check it with Norton Safe Web and MacAfee Site Advisor. I even read the user reviews to make sure that the site hasn't had any bad past history. However I do know that merely being online without visiting a website puts me at risk of a hacker or virus if my Firewall isn't working properly. So far though it's been blocking attempts just like before although as far as I know most of these attempts could be harmless. If this component is necessary though I can always reinstall. I just want to know that it is necessary before I do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,648

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    If your Site Check is Green and not Gray you're OK.Click on Site Check tab and you will get pop-up with Website info.If Site Check Gray and doesn't response when you click on it.I would suggest to reinstall,

    ZoneAlarm Security Engine checked in IE8 and not FF8 using ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 10.1.065.000.Don't know about Free version.Never use it.I'm assuming there is Site Check in the Free version and if there is, It's enable.

    On ZAES I tried to enable ZoneAlarm Security Engine under View and got Java Script Application error message.It broke Site Check.Turn Gray.Could not recover.Had to reinstall.

    Have a nice Day

    XP SP3
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; November 12th, 2011 at 07:14 PM. Reason: rephrase

  7. #7
    sodapop554 Guest

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Sky Soldiers View Post
    If your Site Check is Green and not Gray you're OK.Click on Site Check tab and you will get pop-up with Website info.If Site Check Gray and doesn't response when you click on it.I would suggest to reinstall,

    ZoneAlarm Security Engine checked in IE8 and not FF8 using ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 10.1.065.000.Don't know about Free version.Never use it.I'm assuming there is Site Check in the Free version and if there is, It's enable.

    On ZAES I tried to enable ZoneAlarm Security Engine under View and got Java Script Application error message.It broke Site Check.Turn Gray.Could not recover.Had to reinstall.

    Have a nice Day

    XP SP3
    Alright thanks, although I don't use the site check or the toolbar at all I probably will try reinstalling both FF8 & ZoneAlarm Free Firewall when I get the chance. If it still occurs then there's nothing more that I know of that I can do.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    Considering you already use at least two others website check tools you can easily get rid of the ZA toolbar at install

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    sodapop554 Guest

    Default Re: URGENT Security Engine Error, Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Considering you already use at least two others website check tools you can easily get rid of the ZA toolbar at install
    Yeah I might do that too. So far though I don't ever get that error message so long as it's unchecked. I'll leave it at that for the time being.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZoneAlarm Security Engine Toolbar
    By joeii in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 9th, 2010, 03:59 PM
  2. JavaScript Error with ZoneAlarm Free 9.2 toolbar/security engine
    By Chatterbox101 in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 27th, 2010, 09:10 AM
  3. Some security conserns! Urgent!
    By slickr in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 6th, 2006, 08:18 PM
  4. TRUE VECTOR ENGINE error
    By myming in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 24th, 2006, 07:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •