Thread: Should localhost be in trusted zone?

DavidGB Guest

Arrow Should localhost be in trusted zone?

I've tried to search the ZA help and forums on this, but it has only left me confused.

I've been using ZoneAlarm Free for over ten years. Throughout that time, I've always applied updates and moved to the new versions as soon as I was notified of them. On several occasions I made completley clean installs when I replaced a computer with a new one. But the changes in ZA 10 have made me realise and think about something I've never realised or thought about before.

That is that over the ten years, and through all the versions and clean installs, localhost/loopback/127.0.0.1 has never been in the trusted zone in my ZA; it's always been in the internet zone.

I have never knowingly answered a configuration question as to whether localhost should be in the trusted zone; and I have certainly never moved it from trusted zone to internet zone. But it has always been in the internet zone, so I can only conclude that it is the default setting that it should be in the internet zone, not the trusted zone.

What's brought the matter up is ZA 10 not having the ability all previous versions had to leave ZA always asking if a particular program should have internet access or not. I have several programs that always need to access modules and/or other programs on the same computer via internet protocols to work, but which also occasionally try to connect out onto the internet, which I don't want to allow. Because localhost was, by default, in the internet zone, I left ZA always asking when those programs wanted access, and if it was to 127.0.0.1 I would grant it (but leaving ZA set to always ask), while if it was to an external IP address I would deny it.

But with ZA 10, I can't leave it set to always ask. And it's far too much hastle to manually change the ZA program permissions every session.