Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Will not up-date and other issues.

  1. #11
    DavidRoss Guest

    Default Re: Will not up-date and other issues.

    Is there some debug mode that will get ZA to indicate what error it encountered? I am having the same problem and if I could narrow it down, that would help. If I knew it was that ZA's calls to the ports was being blocked, I could diagnose that. If I knew it was a lack of access to the Internet, I could wade through the network traffic and debug that.

    However, all it says is:

    "Anti-virus/Anti-spyware update: Error"

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Will not up-date and other issues.

    If you know what you are doing than go to the logs section of ZA and examine the avupdateX.log. You may find something there. If not, google about instruction on setting your OS proxy as default (off).

    Logs in windows 7 are in: C:\ProgramData\CheckPoint\ZoneAlarm\Logs\

    If you can't troubleshoot yourself you could ask someone near you that have expertise in diagnosing and fixing PCs.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #13
    DavidRoss Guest

    Default Re: Will not up-date and other issues.

    fax,

    I had already reviewed the logs that ZoneAlarm created, and there was nothing relevant there. There are lots of OSFW entries and a handful of AV/Scan entries. In older logs, I have AV/update entries indicating completion, but none in the active log file.

    As it turns out, it has nothing to do with diagnosing and fixing my PC. What I did was update the software to 10.1.065.000 from 10.0.246.000 and that cleared up the issue.

    ~~Snip~~
    Last edited by fax; December 14th, 2011 at 05:26 AM. Reason: offtopic

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Will not up-date and other issues.

    Hi!

    the logs I have indicated are not the one related to ZA (where you find OSfirewall and simple update logs) but the one specific to the AV part named "avupdateXX.log".

    Anyway, I am happy to see you have resolved the issue. Always update your ZA with latest version and remember you can always contact official support for a dedicated help/troubleshooting.

    Please next time open you own thread detailing well the ZA used, OS and any other information useful to troubleshoot the issue. This will avoid threads be closed due to unrelated posts. This is especially important for user looking for solutions and for the original OP to update its own thread with new information.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; December 14th, 2011 at 05:29 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #15
    rimmer Guest

    Default Cannot get updates for A/V

    Pity the Moderator closed my thread I started on 3rd Dec 2011 (closed 14 Dec) because the issue has not been fixed.
    I have had 17 live chat sessions with eight different ZA agents and I still get 'error' every time I try to get A/V updates. I have followed their instruction carefully, checked and changed minor things in the registry, loaded various versions, sent several logs including one from a there diagnostic tool, cleaned, reinstalled and rebooted dozens of times but still have the problem. I have read the various threats here relating to this problem but nothing helpful has been found.

    It seems to me that there must be malware (or virus) or an incorrect setting somewhere preventing me accessing the ZA update server.

    Any advice or help would be much appreciated.

    I am running XP Pro.

    ZoneAlarm with Anti-virus version: 10.1.079.000
    ZoneAlarm license key: accepted
    vsmon version: 10.1.079.000
    Driver version: 10.1.079.000
    Anti-virus engine version: 8.1.8.79
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version: 1062910304
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.350.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.53.235
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Cannot get updates for A/V

    Quote Originally Posted by rimmer View Post

    It seems to me that there must be malware (or virus) or an incorrect setting somewhere preventing me accessing the ZA update server.

    Any advice or help would be much appreciated.

    I am running XP Pro.

    ZoneAlarm with Anti-virus version: 10.1.079.000
    ZoneAlarm license key: accepted
    vsmon version: 10.1.079.000
    Driver version: 10.1.079.000
    Anti-virus engine version: 8.1.8.79
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version: 1062910304
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.350.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.53.235
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155
    Hi;

    Try ALL of the malware removal instructions listed in theses two links..

    Many explanations possible, may be its a a dead left over that ZA picked up when you scanned the PC or it is a new detection added after a virus signature update or its a false positive.

    For reference on how to improve your protection see here:
    xyz was not detected. What I should do?

    It would be good you check your system for malare as indicated:
    Malware Clean-up Guidance

    Thanks,
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: Will not up-date and other issues.

    Moved the post in the original thread:

    Considering that it does not seems to be linked to a ZA issue and most likely due to an OS corruption then a full format and reinstall of the OS should resolve the issue. I know its drastic but if so far you have not found the problem (from last year) you are unlikely to find it in the near future not even by keeping posting here.

    If you are really keen to keep using ZA and want to follow the route of format then you should:

    1. Reformat the HD and Install XP only from the original CD (not connected to Internet)
    2. Turn ON the windows XP firewall and connect to internet
    3. Go to microsoft updates and download all updates and Service Packs up to when you are fully updated (it will require several re-boot and several re-checking
    4. Download and install ZA
    5. Check everything is working fine
    6. Install the rest
    Last edited by fax; February 16th, 2012 at 05:31 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #18
    rimmer Guest

    Default Re: Cannot get updates for A/V

    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeV View Post
    Hi;

    Try ALL of the malware removal instructions listed in theses two links..

    Many explanations possible, may be its a a dead left over that ZA picked up when you scanned the PC or it is a new detection added after a virus signature update or its a false positive.

    For reference on how to improve your protection see here:
    xyz was not detected. What I should do?

    It would be good you check your system for malare as indicated:
    Malware Clean-up Guidance
    Thanks,
    Have done ALL of GeorgeVs instructions and have the following results.

    1.Improved my protection by applying all the relevent security updates where needed.

    2. Did a AZ AV/AS 'Deep Scan' in 'Safe Mode with Networking'. No infections found.

    3. Scanned with updated MBAM. No Malware detected.

    4. Did full scan with updated SUPERAntiSpyware. Ran into a bit of difficulty! As well as a few usual 'tracking cookies' it detected 'Trojan.Dropper/SVChost-Fake'. While waiting for the scan to finish I suffered a mains failure (just my luck) so lost the results of the scan before I could delete the Trojan. Did a re-scan (twice) but although the 'tracking cookies' came up again the Trojan was not detected this time!

    5. Could not scan with Emsisoft Emergency Kit because the download said 'Zipped Folder is Invalid or Corrupt'.

    6. Scanned with 'Hitman Pro' and only came up with the usual 'tracking cookies.

    Still cannot get AZ AV updates.

    Comments and further help would be appreciated.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,647

    Default Re: Cannot get updates for A/V

    Quote Originally Posted by rimmer View Post

    Still cannot get AZ AV updates.

    Comments and further help would be appreciated.
    When in SAFE MODE WITH NETWORKING.Did you try and able to update antivirus before scanning there.

    You could also check you're hosts file.May be blocked by malware entry in your Windows "HOSTS" file

    The only listing in my "HOSTS" file is the "Loopback Adapter Address 127.0.0.1,

    I always keep hosts file Lock in my firewall settings for this reason.

    You might have to seek help from Bleepingcomputer or SpywareHammer if nothing else worked.

    Have no other suggestions to ofter.

    Have a nice Day
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; February 18th, 2012 at 01:41 PM. Reason: Typo

  10. #20
    rimmer Guest

    Default Re: Cannot get updates for A/V

    Quote Originally Posted by Sky Soldiers View Post
    When in SAFE MODE WITH NETWORKING.Did you try and able to update antivirus before scanning there.

    You could also check you're hosts file.May be blocked by malware entry in your Windows "HOSTS" file

    The only listing in my "HOSTS" file is the "Loopback Adapter Address 127.0.0.1,

    I always keep hosts file Lock in my firewall settings for this reason.

    You might have to seek help from Bleepingcomputer or SpywareHammer if nothing else worked.

    Have no other suggestions to ofter.

    Have a nice Day
    Yes did try to update ZA while in 'safe mode with networking' but got the same negative result.

    Did a seach on my PC for SVChost and came up with 12 files enteries none of which I understand because of lack of knowledge in this field.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZoneAlarm Security Suite Version 8 Internet & Microsoft Money Issues and Shutdown Issues
    By ngoldwein in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 8th, 2009, 03:12 PM
  2. Up To Date?
    By bcool in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 26th, 2008, 05:10 PM
  3. Reg date vs. Prod update service date expiration don't match
    By vanhorst in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2008, 10:15 AM
  4. Login issues and User Account issues
    By gfxparker in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 27th, 2007, 08:45 AM
  5. Why ZA Suite 'service' expiration date and 'update service' expiration date not same?
    By metastable in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 19th, 2006, 08:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •