Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: ZAES (re)install

  1. #1
    dusty_v Guest

    Default ZAES (re)install

    I picked up a particuarly nasty rootkit virus a week ago. Had to have the local shop remove it. after the infection ZAES was not installed correctly. I have no idea if this was the techies at the shop or what. Anyway, I reinstalled ZAES (100_250_000) ZAES is running, evidanced by zatray.exe running process in the taskmanager. However the icon is not in the tray and I have no access to settings etc. To be safe I uninstalled ZAES via control pannel and deleted all references as in the file on this site. Reinstall went normally but it's the same thing Ie, process running but no tray icon or access to the program. Any help with this issue is greatly appriciated.
    Tnx,
    Dusty

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,287

    Default Re: ZAES (re)install

    Considering the level of problems you are having its better you contact the official ZA technical support at the link in my signature (look for the live chat on main support site). Explain the problem and what you already did. They will take you hand in hand for a proper installation. Probably by using the removal tool.

    If not, search here there are many many posts that explain how to install.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: ZAES (re)install

    Quote Originally Posted by dusty_v View Post
    I picked up a particularly nasty rootkit virus a week ago. Had to have the local shop remove it. after the infection ZAES was not installed correctly. I have no idea if this was the techies at the shop or what. Anyway, I reinstalled ZAES (100_250_000) ZAES is running, evidenced by zatray.exe running process in the taskmanager. However the icon is not in the tray and I have no access to settings etc. To be safe I uninstalled ZAES via control panel and deleted all references as in the file on this site. Reinstall went normally but it's the same thing Ie, process running but no tray icon or access to the program. Any help with this issue is greatly appreciated.
    Tnx,
    Dusty
    Hi;

    Whenever posting here- or Contacting ZA Tech Support, it is always advisable to list Full details of your Computer:

    Give the Exact Type and version of Zone Alarm used, Windows Version used and SP update, Browser type and version, other security tools installed.


    A.) If this is Windows 7, Hiding the Tray icon is normal behavior for Windows 7..

    Click on the "up arrow" on the right side of Tray area and click Customize
    Look for the Zone Alarm icon and select "Show Icon and Notifications"

    B.) Please Upgrade ZAES to the Latest Supported version 10.1.065.000
    Sticky: New Release 10.1.065.000
    Last edited by GeorgeV; December 4th, 2011 at 03:43 PM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Uninstalling ZAP 9 before new install version ZAES 10
    By Snarkley in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 21st, 2011, 03:40 PM
  2. ZAES Install Problem
    By ljswales in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 8th, 2009, 08:54 AM
  3. Can't Re-install ZAES
    By mkoutnik in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 12th, 2009, 08:38 AM
  4. Anyplace Control won't load after ZAES install
    By nicuvet in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 7th, 2009, 03:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •