Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Blocking a domain

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    michaelgregg Guest

    Default Blocking a domain

    I heard about the new .XXX domain coming out and would like to know how to block all .XXX sites using ZoneAlarm.

    Is this possible?

    Right now I am using Firefox and have a BLOCK SITE plug-in, and am using the *.XXX to block the sites, which works, but I'd like to do this in ZoneAlarm if possible.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: Blocking a domain

    Hi;

    If you have the latest Zone Alarm 10.1.065.000 Security Suite or Extreme Security, Then you can Turn on "Parental Controls" you may be able to block Domains..

    To find the Parental Controls click on "Internet" panel then click Install next to Parental Control..

    Parental Controls
    Filters and blocks inappropriate websites and limits time spent online
    Last edited by GeorgeV; December 8th, 2011 at 04:48 AM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Blocking a domain

    I am afraid but I don't think its possible outside the parental control. You may want to try to test it as indicated here: http://forums.zonealarm.com/showpost...17&postcount=2 using wildcard instead of a single web address.

    I would nevetheless try to check with the official support if they are better informed. If you have a valid license you can contact, free of charge, the ZA technical support at the link in my signature (look for the live chat link).

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,056

    Default Re: Blocking a domain

    Try Privoxy (not for the new user!) to block top level domains by wildcards.

    Make sure the user action is enabled in the config file and then add this to the user action file:

    {+block{block unwanted TLDs.} -handle-as-image}

    .xxx # pornograghy sites

    (see http://www.iana.org/domains/root/db/ for the complete list of TLD's).

    Note: the browser's proxy connection must be enabled to 127.0.0.1:8118 and the privoxy'x config file must be edited to not allow the "go there anyways" feature ( or else the user still is able to go to unwanted sites).
    Best regards.
    oldsod

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Domain inaccessible on one computer but not on another
    By arlecchino in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 14th, 2010, 05:47 AM
  2. Credentials directed to wrong domain...?
    By beeblebrox in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: April 13th, 2008, 05:11 AM
  3. ZA blocked companies/domain - what happens?
    By jimhaynes in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 25th, 2007, 03:15 AM
  4. Domain forwarding
    By angelfirexx in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: December 10th, 2005, 02:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •