Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Como-Italy
    Posts
    81

    Exclamation WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

    What do You think about installation of ZAES also inside the virtual machine (i.e. do You think it necessary also in the case it will not be connected to internet) ? Any problem arising with two ZAES installed on the same "fisical" disc ?
    Found different opinions looking in internet...
    Personally I think it necessary only when connecting the virtual machine to internet or in the case it will be opened while the main WIN7 is connected...

    Happy New Year to all of You !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

    Sorry normally ZA does not support VM environments. Many had problems in the past. This is due to the low level of integration with the OS.
    Last edited by fax; January 1st, 2012 at 01:08 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Como-Italy
    Posts
    81

    Default Re: WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Sorry normally ZA does not support VM environments. Many had problems in the past. This is due to the low level of integration with the OS.
    ...i.e. dont'You advise to install any virtual machine or not to install ZAES inside a V.M ? I tried to install old 9.3.37 (surely reliable) and seems to work properly at least for the short time during V.M is connected to Internet (updating)...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

    The advise was not to install ZA under a VM environment since aside from the the fact that it may or may not work, ZA does not support it. If you do a search here you will find the relevant messages about it.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,462

    Default Re: WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

    Quote Originally Posted by radetzky View Post
    ...i.e. dont'You advise to install any virtual machine or not to install ZAES inside a V.M ? I tried to install old 9.3.37 (surely reliable) and seems to work properly at least for the short time during V.M is connected to Internet (updating)...
    Here is a Quote from the Forum Moderator:

    Unfortunately we are not VMware experts here and nor is ZA support.

    You will be best served going to VMware support or there forum if they have one to see if other VMware users had any issues with ZA.

    Sorry the ZA forum and ZoneAlarm Support can't help you in this situation.


    Forum Moderator

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

    No version of ZoneAlarm is supported under any type of VM from any company.


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Rob Guest

    Default Zonealarm hides network adapter in Windows XPmode

    While Zonealarm is installed you cannot select a host network adatper in the windows xp mode settings. The only options available are shared networking (nat), Internal Network and none.

    This means ( for example ) you cannot communicate using tcp with any application running in xp mode. My specific problem is debugging applications. I use xpmode for compatibility and network testing.

    Stopping zonealarm is not enough. You need to uninstall completely. After this the host adapter appears in the xpmode network settings adapter selections.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: Zonealarm hides network adapter in Windows XPmode

    Never heard of this issue and don't know what XP mode settings is. If you are not using emulators or VMs or MACs (not supported by any version of ZA) please contact directly the ZA technical support at the link in my signature (look for the live chat link in the main support page). Its free for registered users.

    Explain well the issue and, most importantly, how to replicate it easily. If it is an issue with ZA, official supports need to be made aware of it and eventually escalate it to development team.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Rob Guest

    Default Re: Zonealarm hides network adapter in Windows XPmode

    Hello fax.

    Xpmode is a ( free with win7 pro ) virtual xp machine.
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...indows-xp-mode

    Once installed you can configure its network settings in order to communicate with applications running within it.

    if you install zonealarm on your host pc ( not xpmode ) then the network setting
    in xpmode will do not list your host adapter. And so you cannot communicate with apps that run within xpmode from your host pc. Uninstalling zonealarm fixes the issue.

    I'm not a registered user so i cant speak with tech support. I just thought you should know because googling for this solution shows that people are uninstalling zonealarm for this reason.

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...3-8fc07d546335


    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: Zonealarm hides network adapter in Windows XPmode

    Hi!

    this is known and by design and been posted several times in this forum.
    Please next time use the search facility at the top bar of the forum interface.

    ZA does not support any virtual machine by any brand.
    WIN 7 Virtual Machine (XPMode)

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    No version of ZoneAlarm is supported under any type of VM from any company. Forum Moderator
    I will soon merge this thread with the above linked just to avoid dispersion and keep the issue in place.

    Sorry,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Failed to creat java virtual machine
    By qwert00 in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 17th, 2011, 02:54 PM
  2. ZA 9.3 and WIN Virtual Desktop Manager
    By pauldibartolo in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 8th, 2010, 09:12 AM
  3. Win 7 Virtual XP Mode?
    By ronsmeyer in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 9th, 2009, 02:55 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 8th, 2009, 04:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •