Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: DHCP Servers in Zones???

  1. #1
    WalkGood Guest

    Default DHCP Servers in Zones???

    For some reason, I have two DHCP Servers in my trusted zone. One for IP 10.42.1.1 and 192.168.1.1. for the other entry.

    Are they REALLY needed if I have a hardware firewall in my DSL router/modem?

    How do I trace back to find out what software is using these servers?


    Win XP sp3
    Latest ZA Free

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: DHCP Servers in Zones???

    Yes, this is to ensure you are able to obtain an IP (and having your PC factually connected to the Internet) from your router.

    You should check which IP has your router (=your DHCP server) to remove one of the two addresses probably related to another or an old connection. The simpler method is to check in the ZA zones which network is listed. Something like 192.168.1.0/255.255... Etc? Then remove the DHCP with 10..... address.

    Which software use DHCP? Its your Operating System. The DHCP server is in practice your router and windows needs it to get an IP and connect to internet or share resources with other PCs in your LAN Those IPs are internal and cannot be reached from the outside.

    You may not need to have the DHCP IP under the ZA zones set as TRUSTED if you have already the network 192.168.1.0/255.255.... set as TRUSTED (normally the default at install.

    To understand better what is dhcp and reserved IPs you may want to review the following:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic...ation_Protocol

    And

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network

    Hope this helps.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Lucia Guest

    Default Re: DHCP Servers in Zones???

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Yes, this is to ensure you are able to obtain an IP (and having your PC factually connected to the Internet) from your router.

    You should check which IP has your router (=your DHCP server) to remove one of the two addresses probably related to another or an old connection. The simpler method is to check in the ZA zones which network is listed. Something like 192.168.1.0/255.255... Etc? Then remove the DHCP with 10..... address.

    Which software use DHCP? Its your Operating System. The DHCP server is in practice your router and windows needs it to get an IP and connect to internet or share resources with other PCs in your LAN Those IPs are internal and cannot be reached from the outside.

    You may not need to have the DHCP IP under the ZA zones set as TRUSTED if you have already the network 192.168.1.0/255.255.... set as TRUSTED (normally the default at install.

    To understand better what is dhcp and reserved IPs you may want to review the following:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic...ation_Protocol

    And

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network

    Hope this helps.
    Wow that actually did make some sense after some thorough reading, much appreciated for the explanation

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: DHCP Servers in Zones???

    You're welcome Lucia!

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,646

    Default Re: DHCP Servers in Zones???

    Lucia, please note the following.

    Note : In the future when seeking help in the forum please provide volunteers the following information along with your issue when posting here :

    Full OS Platform / PC Type, Brand, Processor & Ram / Browser / Security Programs Installed / ZoneAarm Type & Version

    Never post your license key publicly.If pasting About in the Forum.Make sure to remove the license key.


    Lookup TCP/IP configuration :

    Start > Run> type cmd click OK.Type ipconfig /all at the command prompt.

    ipconfig /all : Displays the full TCP/IP configuration for all adapters. Without this parameter, ipconfig displays only the IP address, subnet mask, and default gateway values for each adapter. Adapters can represent physical interfaces, such as installed network adapters, or logical interfaces, such as dial-up connections.

    At this link : http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../bb490921.aspx

    Have a nice Day
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; April 24th, 2012 at 07:05 PM. Reason: Rephrase

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2 dhcp servers in my trusted zone & New Network Found
    By paulmars in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 30th, 2010, 07:28 AM
  2. DNS / DHCP Zones
    By za_avastfan in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 6th, 2009, 06:45 AM
  3. Internet trusted zones,dns and dhcp relashionship
    By gorgeousjorge in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 28th, 2009, 12:00 AM
  4. ZA Security Suite adds random networks and DHCP servers
    By kdkrone in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 31st, 2008, 04:25 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 19th, 2006, 09:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •