Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: unable to install ZA 101 079

  1. #1
    fch22 Guest

    Default unable to install ZA 101 079

    I'm a user of ZA since several years, and last weeks , it asks me to upgrade to the last version 101 079, but I got the error : "failed to parse package configuration"
    I uninstall the current version, thenuse the clean.exe tools, but even with it I have the same error
    is there some one who can help me, since 1 week I only have the basic windows firewall, but not confident with it

    thanks

    fch22

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    Hi;

    Follow these instructions Below to clean your computer of the old version and any conflicting 3rd party Security programs, then install a clean new copy of the current supported version of ZA 10.1.079.000



    The instruction for a clean install are below,

    1. Download the latest ZA version <== click here

    2. Remove your current ZA version (in XP use Windows add/remove programs)

    3. Remove other security tools installed. Use http://www.appremover.com/ to double check no left overs are present.

    4. Clean your system and registry withthe Free Ccleaner.exe
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/slim

    5. Download to your desktop and run the ZA removal tool, now reboot after running ZA Removal tool.

    6. Install the latest ZA version without touching any default settings,
    and Do Not Restore Save Settings from the old install
    if that fails to resolve your issue with the New ZA Free 10.1.079.000
    Last edited by GeorgeV; September 11th, 2012 at 05:56 PM.

  3. #3
    fch22 Guest

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    I already have proceed with most of those steps , except 3, as I don't want to remove Avira or malwarebytes
    I wanted to go back to previous release of ZA (the one before 101), but I didn't keep the installation prorgram, is there a place where I can find it ?

    I see also some post for incompoatbility with firefox 9, is it relative to the ZA toolbar (that i don't use) ?

    thanks for your help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    Have you actually tried to fully re-download the ZA installer from the link provided? This may be also the problem. Also ensure you have not any left overs of ZA in the system. Check and remove any "checkpoint" folder. Depending on the system used folders may be in different locations. Ensure you have not applied any particular restrictions to the registry or the system and fully shutdown Avira and MBAM before installing ZA.

    Installing an old ZA is not recommended, better to move to other free firewalls but up-to-date.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Smile Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    Hi;

    I agree with Guru Fax...

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, or around the World,
    without All the Details about your computer and Software that you failed to provide, without our ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    *** NOTICE:


    Give the Exact Type and version of Zone Alarm used, Windows Version & Service Pack used, Browser type and version, other security tools version installed.

    is this a DeskTop, Laptop computer or Netbook ?
    does it meet the Minimum System Requirements for Zone Alarm listed on the Download page?


    NOTE: the procedure I provided above, if followed correctly as instructed as the Administrator of the computer, will allow you to install and run the latest ZA version.

    Finally: Installing an old ZA versions is not recommended, it would be better to move to other free firewalls and keep it up-to-date.
    Last edited by GeorgeV; February 4th, 2012 at 03:14 PM.

  6. #6
    fch22 Guest

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    thanks

    concerning the environment : windows XP SP3
    I have uninstall ZA, I've just removed a remaining folder checkpoint in "program file"
    I have stopped AVIRA and MalwareByte
    all without success.
    I run CClearner (including registry check)
    I have rowload the last version from the link

    when running clean.exe , I have the same error

    can you explain me what is the impact in AVIRA and Malwarebyte of "Remove other security tools installed. Use http://www.appremover.com/ to double check no left overs are present"



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    Quote Originally Posted by fch22 View Post
    thanks

    concerning the environment : windows XP SP3

    when running clean.exe , I have the same error

    can you explain me what is the impact in AVIRA and Malwarebyte of "Remove other security tools installed. Use http://www.appremover.com/ to double check no left overs are present"


    1.) If you get an Error when runing "clean.exe" This is normally an indication that the removal tool does not have the necessary permission to fully access the system either because of a corrupution of the OS registry or due to other software installed (shut down everything running) or due to hardware problems.

    2.) on a few rare occations with a select few computers, I have seen that
    if you remove all possible confliction programs and do a Clean install of Zone Alarm on a Clean Windows XP SP3 computer as Administrator, then if Zone Alarm Free installs and running OK, you can Re-install Avira and malwareBytes afterwards..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; February 4th, 2012 at 03:12 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    ZA is not only in program files folder... but also in appdata folder. This is hidden in XP (C:\Documents and Settings\*user name*\Application Data).

    But, as suggested, if you even can't run the clean.exe then you are out of luck. There is something wrong on the system that does not let the executable to fully access the registry and the HD and remove ZA related files. This is causing the error, old configuration file cannot be accessed.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    fch22 Guest

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    found the checkpoint foler in application data, but still the same error.

    now , when I look at the registry, I found a key for checkpoint (while I have uninstall previous ZA and run cclearner)

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CheckPoint
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CheckPoint\ISW
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CheckPoint\ISW\Settings
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\CheckPoint\ISW\Stats

    any suggestion ? should I remove all of them ?
    thanks

  10. #10
    fch22 Guest

    Default Re: unable to install ZA 101 079

    GeorgeV,

    I missed your suggestion, but will try it tomorrow morning

    thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 31st, 2012, 06:05 AM
  2. Clean Install 10.1.079.000 old licence key
    By pmarsh in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 9th, 2012, 01:58 AM
  3. [Fixed] ZAES runs a deep scan at start up => install 10.1.079 =>Click UPDATE in ZA
    By ercocetti in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2011, 03:56 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 9th, 2011, 02:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •