Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: [WORKAROUND] Zonealarm GUI and Remote Control like VNC

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Canzler Guest

    Exclamation [WORKAROUND] Zonealarm GUI and Remote Control like VNC

    Hello folks,


    i just updated to ZA Free 10.1.079 from 9.2.058....
    Now i have the problem, that I can't control Zonealarm GUI while i am connected via VNC to the pc. I can open it but nothing can be clicked.
    In earlier versions of Zonealarm I always unchecked the box "protect zone alarm client" or something else (free translation from german)

    This option does not exist in ZA free 10 or i haven't found it yet.
    In the anti-spyware version I used some years ago it also helped to set the permission/trust-level of the program to "super". But this does not work either.


    Any ideas?
    Last edited by GeorgeV; February 3rd, 2012 at 03:48 AM.

  2. #2
    cheesemonkeyboy Guest

    Default Re: Zonealarm GUI and Remote Control like VNC

    YES! I too am having this problem!

    I too used to uncheck the "protect zone alarm client" box, but I don't see this option anymore - I even poked around a little in the ZoneAlarm registry settings.

    HOW TO CONTROL ZoneAlarm V10.1._____ GUI WHILST USING VNC???

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: Zonealarm GUI and Remote Control like VNC

    The option was taken out of the client because we found users enabling this function and opening up there ZoneAlarm Client to hackers to control and lower there security. It was a major security risk.

    There is a workaround for Expert users only where you can manually edit the backup XML file to allow remote access to the client UI.

    WARNING: If you do this ZoneAlarm is not responsible for any security breaches of any types or threats including Viruses, malware, worms, spyware and Etc.... or any problems with the client in the future... use at your own risk.
    Do Not contact Technical Support for help with this or if this does not work for you. Support will not help you with this.

    1. Save a backup file of your setting, open ZA, Click tools, Preferences then click the back up button and save the backup file.

    2. Open the XML in notepad. Find the following string: disableKeyboardMouseProtection

    Change it from: disableKeyboardMouseProtection="false"
    To: disableKeyboardMouseProtection="true"

    and save the changes to the file.

    3. Open ZA, Click tools, Preferences, click the restore button select the file and restore it.

    4. Shutdown PC and reboot.

    Now VNC should be able to control the ZA UI.
    Last edited by Forum-Moderator; May 30th, 2012 at 01:21 PM.
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Remote control
    By jiger in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 26th, 2011, 02:11 PM
  2. About remote control - NEED GURU HELP
    By jurome in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 14th, 2008, 03:02 AM
  3. Pc Anywhere / RealVNC - ZoneAlarm Panels protected from remote control
    By diverguy in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 27th, 2007, 12:38 PM
  4. cant click the GUI of ZAP using VNC
    By techwg in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 21st, 2006, 02:40 PM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: March 22nd, 2006, 05:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •