Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Zonealarm 10.0 no manual update

  1. #1
    eizo2007 Guest

    Angry Zonealarm 10.0 no manual update

    Hello to Everyone,
    I would like to ask the experts what is the difference between 9.3 and 10.0 version of Zonealarm Pro?
    Also it seems that in 10.0 version no manual update allowed!!!
    It seems there is no spyware scan neither,nor update config for it.
    Overall the entire config is gone.Na settings can be set.
    Am i right?
    If you know how to set update to manual and disable updates for spyware(if it exist),i would be greatfull.
    Thanks
    Last edited by GeorgeV; February 7th, 2012 at 04:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Smile Re: Zonealarm 10.0 no manual update

    Hi;

    It sounds like you have a Corrupted or incomplete install of Zone Alarm Pro 10.1.079.000

    Try this proceedure..

    Follow ALL of these instructions Below to clean your computer of the old version and any conflicting 3rd party Security programs, then install a clean new copy of the current supported version of ZA 10.1.079.000




    The instruction for a clean install are below,

    1. Download the latest ZA version <== click here

    2. Remove your current ZA version (in XP use Windows add/remove programs)

    3. Remove other security tools installed. Use http://www.appremover.com/ to double check no left overs are present.

    4. Clean your system and registry withthe Free Ccleaner.exe
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/slim

    5. Download to your desktop and run the ZA removal tool, now reboot after running ZA Removal tool.

    6. Install the latest ZA version without touching any default settings,
    and Do Not Restore Save Settings from the old install.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: Zonealarm 10.0 no manual update

    Hi!

    There is no difference from ZA9 and 10. There is no full spyware signature detection or manual scanning in ZAPRO 9 (and 10). Only "site check" (block known websites or warn you of danger) and "antiphishing" protection. Both are done with heuristics and some signature. Some of the above features may need the toolbar to work fully.

    You can access for updates in the antiphishing section (check for updates) or directly from the main interface "update". You can disable product updates under the scheduled tasks section "updates". You may need also to turn OFF application control if you do not want ZA to check programs with the central ZA database of safe applications. [Disabling all of these will seriously undermine your protection and is not recommended. It would be better to find an alternative firewall that you can use fully then using ZA with features disabled].

    You should run a proper antivirus/antispyware with ZAPRO. ZAPRO is not meant to replace your on-access malware protection program.

    Hope this answer your question.
    Last edited by fax; February 7th, 2012 at 04:37 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,646

    Default Re: Zonealarm 10.0 no manual update

    From ZoneAlarm Pro Release History :

    Note: To serve our customers who have a need for a streamlined high-end firewall product, especially to complement an existing anti-virus program, ZoneAlarm Pro firewall no longer includes the anti-spyware feature.

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...ml#9.0.083.000

    Have a nice Day

  5. #5
    eizo2007 Guest

    Default Re: Zonealarm 10.0 no manual update

    Thanks FOX,
    I want to ask you also does Zonealarm 9 check the programs as well(compares then to a database server)?
    Is there a way to change settings for that future because i have to add proxy server?
    Thank you once again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: Zonealarm 10.0 no manual update

    Yes, ZA9 also check programs. In ZA 10 proxy settings can be added under tools --> preferences. You cannot add a proxy if it requries a password. Also in ZA9 you can add the proxy. Regardless the features used ZA cannot support proxies with password/user required. ZA is a home product and does not include features normally implemented in Enterprise products.

    In ZA 10 help --> help, you will find an online manual.

    Also note that with a valid license to ZAPRO you can contact, free of charge, the ZA technical support at the link in my signature. Look for the live chat icon.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZA 10 manual update?
    By pokeefe in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 17th, 2011, 03:52 PM
  2. Manual update
    By dirtnapper in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 21st, 2011, 12:25 PM
  3. Unable to update anti-spyware, is there a manual update option?
    By lsikala in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2008, 06:12 AM
  4. manual update question
    By virgil in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 14th, 2006, 07:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •