Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

  1. #1
    intern Guest

    Question ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

    I just installed ZA and when I checked View Zones there's an entry for an unknown mapped drive with ip 66.152.109.110

    Since I've got no idea why that entry exists I blocked it. But now it created a duplicate entry set to Trusted.

    Please someone tell why it creates this entry.

    Thanks.



    Also, how good is the anti-phishing feature?
    When I was registering in the forum I got this alert:
    --------------
    http://forums.zonealarm.com/register.php?do=register
    Warning: This site is dangerous
    The site you requested [forums.zonealarm.com] might be a phishing site...
    --------------
    Last edited by Forum-Moderator; April 30th, 2012 at 11:22 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

    I don't get any phishing alert on that linke. What version of ZA are you using? Right click the ZA icon near the clock, about, copy to clipboard, paste it here.

    Are you on RoadRunner? The IP seems landing there. Sounds like you have some hardware connected to your PC, probably your modem/router.You can ask to your ISP for clarification.

    The best approach when you do not know what to do or you have modified settings without knowing exactly why then remove ZA, start from scratch, download and install the latest version you find here:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...seHistory.html

    Keep the defaults, do not modify them.

    For security I would also to check your PC for malware, see here below for some hints on software to use:
    Malware Clean-up Guidance

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by Forum-Moderator; April 30th, 2012 at 11:23 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

    How did you come to the conclusion is is an IP address of a mapped drive?

    ZA does NOT automaticly add IP address of mapped drives.

    If its a mapped drive then you must have mapped it on the PC.

    Since the quick work of checking an IP on the internet was done by a guru and its not a mapped drive I'm changing the title of this post because its very misleading because ZA would never do this to a Real mapped drive .
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    intern Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

    I have the latest version:
    ZoneAlarm Free Firewall version: 10.1.101.000
    vsmon version: 10.1.101.000
    Driver version: 10.0.217.000
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.380.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.5.53.235
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Anti-Phishing Database: 1.2.104.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Sites Database: 04.155


    Don't know about the possible phishing warning, but that is what I got the first time, I just added an exception and it doesn't show up again.


    About the unknown entry, it is listed as
    Name - IP Address/Site
    Mapped Drive - 66.152.109.110

    I assumed it was a mapped drive because of the name listed. If I block or delete the entry it appears again after I restart the computer.

    This a new laptop by the way and I have MS Security Essentials running and I have also scanned with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.


    TimeWarner/RoadRunner is my ISP, but don't know if it's just coincidence that that other IP also belongs to them. The ip assigned to me is on a very different range and always seems to start with 98.xxxxxxxx

    The computer is connected to a wireless router, which is connected to the cable modem. All devices connected to the router have an ip like 192.168.1.1.x

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

    If you see it in ZA then it means its been allowed in your OS (windows 7?). Remove it from there and you will also remove it from ZA.
    Probably some software (legit or not) may have been installing it?

    http://www.7tutorials.com/how-delete...ives-windows-7
    Last edited by fax; May 1st, 2012 at 02:50 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    intern Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

    The only mapped drive I have is the memory card reader on my Epson Artisan wireless printer, but again its ip is local 192.168.1.1.x

    Is there another way to find out what's causing that entry to be added?

    I saw that ZA has an online backup feature and was thinking that might be it, but that probably has nothing to do with it, right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm adds entry for unknown ip

    Correct, ZA backup does not add any entry in ZA firewall zones.

    You could start the PC only with OS services/application and ZA. This way:

    1.) Click Start -> Run ("Run" on XP only)
    2.) Type MSConfig in the run box (or search box in VISTA/WIN7) and click OK (ENTER in VISTA/WIN7)
    3.) Once in MSConfig, click the Startup Tab
    4.) Remove the checks from everything except zatray and forcefield
    5.) Click the Services Tab
    6.) Place a check in "Hide All Microsoft Services"
    7.) Now remove checks from everything other than TrueVector Internet
    Monitor and ForceField (if present), and click OK.
    8.) Restart your computer

    How does it work?

    NOTE: You can place your computer back into a normal startup process by
    going back into msconfig and choosing the Normal Startup option on the
    General tab.
    Last edited by fax; May 4th, 2012 at 12:34 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. does forcefield block adds?
    By cooloutac in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: May 5th, 2009, 11:01 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 17th, 2008, 04:34 AM
  3. ZA adds BHO
    By davidbanner in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 21st, 2007, 05:45 AM
  4. Unknown problem with ZoneAlarm firewall
    By coldflame in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 6th, 2007, 02:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •