Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: [SOLVED] Java 7 conflict: strange access issues

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Strange access issues

    That's it! I uninstalled the new java and followed the link provided. Installed java 6 build 33 and everything is back to normal (even with chrome)

    Thanks George. Ya know, between George and FAX I've never had an issue go unresolved (and I've had a few <grin>).
    Thanks guys.
    Dusty

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Smile Re: Strange access issues

    Your Welcome...

  3. #13
    just4answer Guest

    Default ZoneAlarm Pro blocking outgoing traffic from Java 7

    Dear ZoneAlarm support team,

    I had and still have the same problem as many others here do:

    After installing Java 7 Update 5 my ZoneAlarm Pro is blocking any outgoing traffic from any program requiering Java. It took me quite a while to figure that out.

    ~~snip~~

    Best regards,

    Paul
    Last edited by fax; August 8th, 2012 at 01:39 AM. Reason: offtopic

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: Strange access issues with Java 7 conflict

    Sorry all user here no ZA support.
    Please use the search function before posting as this has been discussed in several threads before.

    ZoneAlarm Free with Virus checker and Java7 Update 1 to 6

    Oracle is aware of the issue and this will be addressed in a future update. If you want to contribute to a faster patch you will need to complain to Oracle, not here.

    a suggested workaround that may or may not help:
    Conflict with ZA and Java 1.7 BETA

    I have consolidated all JAVA 7 and ZA retail posts into one single thread to avoid dispersion and finally having only 2 single main threads about it (one in the free section and the other in the access section).

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; August 16th, 2012 at 09:05 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #15
    Simbi Guest

    Default [SOLVED] Cannot access Yahoo Canasta games' rooms with ZAX --> JAVA

    I haven't adjusted to the new ZA configuration (had ZA for years) and can't for the life of me figure out how to solve this. I'm able to access okay when I turn ZA off, so ZA is definitely the problem. It's not a browser problem because I've tried in both Firefox and Chrome. Help!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Smile Re: Cannot access Yahoo Canasta games' rooms with ZA Extreme

    Quote Originally Posted by Simbi View Post
    I haven't adjusted to the new ZA configuration (had ZA for years) and can't for the life of me figure out how to solve this. I'm able to access okay when I turn ZA off, so ZA is definitely the problem. It's not a browser problem because I've tried in both Firefox and Chrome. Help!
    Hi;

    Have you tried "GAME MODE" in the System Tray?

    make sure that you "check mark" the Turn off Web Security option on Bottom left side..

    be sure to wait a minute befor starting Game, so that WebSecurity has time to shut down..





    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #17
    Simbi Guest

    Default Re: Cannot access Yahoo Canasta games' rooms with ZA Extreme

    Thank you. After posting this thread, I (always the way isn't it?) found the one re Java compatibility problems with ZA and accordingly uninstalled Java 7.5 and installed Java 6, which has eliminated the problem. I also reported the problem to Oracle, as recommended.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: Cannot access Yahoo Canasta games' rooms with ZA Extreme

    Ok! Thank you for reporting the issue to Oracle. Since the issue is resolved I will modify the title of the thread and close it. Then I will move in the existing thread about JAVA issues.

    Do not hesitate to open a new thread for any other issue you may have on ZA products.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #19

    Default loading a Java applet requires ZA firewall to be set to medium

    Hi,

    I'm using a web-based scientific software (REAXYS), at some point, calls a Java applet to load an editor.

    When the applet loads, it opens a window to the address: " https://www.reaxys.com/reaxys/js/sre...child_java.jsp "

    With WinXP, this work fine in all situations.

    With Win7, ZA firewall MUST be set to medium if on a public nework (or the network has to be declared "trusted") for the applet to load.

    I checked that Java had 3 green bars in program application control. I put reaxys.com as trusted zone (host name) but to no avail.
    I tried several adjustments of the firewall using "advanced settings" but but was unsuccessful (the only way, really, to have the applet to load was to put the firewall security as "medium".

    Any suggestion ?

    Win7
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version: 10.2.074.000
    Vsmon version: 10.2.074.000
    Driver version: 10.0.217.000
    Antivirus engine version: 8.2.11.97
    Antivirus signature DAT file version: 1092843840
    AntiSpam version: 6.3.1.4973
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.395.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.2.104.0
    Last edited by ptulkens; September 4th, 2012 at 11:31 PM.

  10. #20

    Default Re: loading a Java applet requires ZA firewall to be set to medium

    I may actually provide my own solution.

    By reading the thread http://forums.zonealarm.com/showthread.php?t=79002 , I saw that Java 7 had problems with ZA.

    I uninstalled Java 7 and installed Java 6-35 ... and it now works fine.

    So, obviously, Java 7 is to be avoided (until they fix the problem).

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] Problem with ZAES 10.2.074 and Java 7 & Firefox 14?
    By accrabob in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 21st, 2012, 05:15 AM
  2. conflict with ZA and Java 1.7 BETA
    By edwardsmarkf in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 24th, 2012, 10:48 AM
  3. [SOLVED] Wireless access issues
    By sdambal in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 18th, 2009, 07:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •