Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

    I have an XPS Studio 9100 that will run both 32bit and 64bit programs. During the installation of ZA Free Antivirus+Firewall, it shows the program folder the program will be installed in. In this case it wants to install it in the (x86) 32bit folder. I don't use anything in 32bit and when I attempt to install it in the 64bit Program Files folder, I get a popup that says it can't be done...... anyone know why? The system requirements for the program say it's for both 32 & 64bit systems. Is there a way around this?

    Any help is appreciated..... Kiteman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,463

    Default Re: Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

    Hello;

    DELL Computers as well as many other Brands of Computer PC Desktops come with Trial copies of 3rd Party Security Programs like McAfee Security Center program that must first be Uninstalled and Removed BEFORE Installing Zone Alarm Firewall + Anti-Virus..

    1.) As a General Rule to avoid Conflict you should Only run one Firewall and one Anti-Virus on the same computer..

    2.) Find cause of the conflict with ZoneAlarm

    Try to find the culprit of the conflict by selectively boot your system. First try only ZA and Windows services and then slowly put back the unchecked items (first services and then startup items).

    1.) Click Start -> Run
    2.) Type MSConfig in the run box (or search box in VISTA/Win7) and click OK (ENTER in VISTA/Win7)
    3.) Once in MSConfig, click the Startup Tab
    4.) Remove the checks from everything except ZLClient
    5.) Click the Services Tab
    6.) Place a check in "Hide All Microsoft Services"
    7.) Now remove checks from everything other than TrueVector Internet
    Monitor and ForceField (if present), and click OK.
    8.) Restart your computer

    How does it work Now?

    NOTE: You can place your computer back into a normal startup process by
    going back into msconfig and choosing the Normal Startup option on the
    General tab.
    Last edited by GeorgeV; September 26th, 2012 at 04:02 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,643

    Default Re: Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

    Remove all 3rd party antivirus and security software.

    To remove McAfee antivirus and security products:

    http://www.zonealarm.com/security/en...all/step-1.htm

    Note :

    This is by design.Zone Alarm is Windows 7 32/64bit Compatible. Zone Alarm will Install on Windows 7 64-Bit OS, it will run in 32-Bit mode.

    Firefox 15.0.1
    Win 7/64
    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 10.2.078.000

    Have a nice Day
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; September 27th, 2012 at 04:32 AM. Reason: 32/64bit Compatible

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

    Thanks for the response....... I do not have any McAfee or any other 3rd. party installed on that computer..... it was removed the day I turned it on.

    From what I understand now, I'm stuck with having to run the ZA in a 32bit browser? Is this also true with the paid version?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,287

    Default Re: Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

    I don't think ZA will have any problem with 64bit browsers (compatible only with IE and FF). Did you tried it?
    ZA should be fully compatible with 64bit OS (VISTA/WIN7)

    Main core drivers are 64bit native (otherwise it would not work on the system) but not all components (e.g. GUI).
    This is the same in all ZA versions.

    Sorry,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; September 27th, 2012 at 01:12 PM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

    Thanks guys for the info....... guess I'll just have to live with it for now.

    This thread can be considered solved

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,463

    Default Re: Why can't I install ZA Free + AV on DELL Studio XPS 9100 w/Windows 7 & McAfee SC

    You're welcome!
    Closing this thread since the issue is resolved.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Graphics Card nVidia geforce 8600m Dell XPS Ultimate Upgrade
    By carlxx in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2009, 09:02 AM
  2. Dell Photo AIO Printer 922 Won't Print After ZoneAlarm Install
    By risingtide in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 1st, 2008, 02:12 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 30th, 2007, 05:15 AM
  4. Zone Alarm (6.5.700)conflicts with Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 and Visual Studio Express
    By chaos2oo2 in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 21st, 2006, 09:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •