Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to block all Internet access

  1. #1
    Franou Guest

    Default How to block all Internet access

    ZA v.10.2.081.100 – Windows 7 and/ or VISTA

    I will be connecting my laptop to a satellite and need to transmit as little data as possible.

    I will only access and update a website on GoDaddy via Internet Explorer 9 or Firefox

    I have to block everything else!

    I read http://forums.zonealarm.com/showpost.php?p=292030&postcount=3 but it is old, dated 2004

    It states:
    - Go to Application Control and ensure it is set to MAX – DONE

    - Go to SmartDefense and ensure it is set to MANUAL – Is this DefenseNet under the Firewall tab? I do NOT want the ZA server to be queried for that program’s policy


    - Go to Program control and ensure that "Enable Microsoft Catalog Utilization" is Unchecked – DONE

    - Reboot the PC


    - Go to Program List and remove the entry(ies) in question.

    In my case are there any programs that I should not block?
    e.g.:
    - Client Sever Runtime Process
    - COM Surrogate
    - Internet Explorer / Firefox

    What is the difference between removing a program and setting SmartDefense to Custom and Trust Level to ASK?

    Is there anything else I should do/know to limit data transmission to an absolute minimum?

    THANK YOU!

    Franou

  2. #2
    Franou Guest

    Default Re: How to block all Internet access?????

    This is meant to be a question --- please help!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: How to block all Internet access?????

    Quote Originally Posted by Franou View Post
    This is meant to be a question --- please help!
    Hello;

    Sorry that nobody has responded to your question?

    This Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..

    Here is my two cents worth of advise:

    1.) You will probably need to wait for a responce by another ZA Free Firewall user that has experience with "connecting a laptop to a satellite"

    2.) also the old Forum Link, dated 2004, is not applicable since 2004, the Zone Alarm has been Redesigned from grownd up several times with lots of major changes..

    3.) "I will only access and update a website on GoDaddy via Internet Explorer 9 or Firefox"

    There may be a conflict with your Firefox Setting or ADD-ONS?
    Zone Alarm 10.2.081.000 currenly only Supports Internet Explorer 9 or Firefox 15.x and not FireFox 16..

    The More information you post the more likely users here will be able to understand the issue and try to help.
    Last edited by GeorgeV; November 4th, 2012 at 03:22 AM.

  4. #4
    Franou Guest

    Default Re: How to block all Internet access

    Thank you for your informative post.
    I will make sure to only install Firefox 15.

    Do you happen to know the difference between removing a program and setting SmartDefense to Custom and Trust Level to ASK?

    I hope someone answers my other questions.

    Franou

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Block Internet Access to One specific program ...
    By contiw in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 15th, 2009, 06:26 AM
  2. internet access auto block question
    By mevad in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 31st, 2009, 03:34 PM
  3. Firewall settings block my internet access
    By cossino in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 9th, 2008, 10:34 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 9th, 2008, 12:13 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 16th, 2006, 05:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •