Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Angry ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Using XP SP3 and ZA has been working happily for years teamed up with Avast virus checker

    Trouble is now Everything seems to start OK Avast runs then ZA runs but just sticks with the message "Initialisation is in progress" never stops .... left it for an hour!

    I I try to run any program the hourglass just sticks on and nothing happens! Cant use anything

    Cant even access task manager to see whats going on

    Keyboard and mouse not locked?

    Tried everything I can think of.......

    Restart of system does not think anything is wrong - have to trick it into safe mode by crashing it early!

    Tried going back to earlier backup without any joy - tried upgrading ZA to latest Free version 10.2.081.000 but no joy - taken everything out of startup except Avast and ZA - all to no effect

    Saw someone saying right click on ZA icon and remove data base - not got that option

    Am at my wits end - before I wipe the hard drive and spend 2 days reloading everything ........ Has anyone any ideas?

    Any help much appreciated

    Look forward to comments

    pete

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Can't you go to your XP control panel --> add/remove programs while in safe mode or normal mode and simply uninstall ZA?

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Question Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Can't you go to your XP control panel --> add/remove programs while in safe mode or normal mode and simply uninstall ZA?
    Tried uninstall and reinstall latest version - still same?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Probably some files are locked by the system or you have registry issues. May be also AVAST is preventing ZA to work correctly.

    You may want, once you removed again ZA to run the ZA removal tool you find here:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...load/clean.exe

    Then look manually on the system for "checkpoint" folders. There is one in programs file and another in the hidden XP folder <DRIVE>:\Documents and Settings\<user account name>\Application Data

    Turn on windows xp firewall

    Re-download a fresh copy of the free ZA directly from the ZA site.

    Disable avast fully, to be sure it's not the origin of the problem.

    Install ZA. Any better?

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; October 30th, 2012 at 01:11 PM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Question Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Went back to an earlier XP breakpoint in March 2012 - that made things worse ZA now

    "no valid install configuration"

    But at least I could use all my programs again and XP works OK!

    Knocked the machine off the web - Unistalled and deleted the whole lot and removed any directories I could see

    Your idea of the clean tool is good too will use that before I re-install anything then will download the very latest free version on another machine

    Then try a clean install and see what happens

    Thanks for your help - much appreciated

    pete

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    You're welcome!
    Normally restoring your system to a previous restore point will break ZA as it hooks at very low level on the system.

    Remember to install the correct version of ZA (not the AV version if you are already running another AV).

    For testing purpose install ZA while AVAST is fully shutdown to avoid going back to the previous state and to be sure any recent conflicts with AVAST.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Red face Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Whats an AV version? How do I tell from the file I downloaded?

    Does ZA require the internet when its installing? Worried about accessing the internet with no protection - even If I put XP firewall back on (will it clash?) if I take Avast off will have no virus protection

    Confused

    pete

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Do not install the ZAfree version with the antivirus included (AV=antivirus). See here below the various ZA versions, the freeZA is the second from the top: http://www.zonealarm.com/security/en...e-download.htm

    1. Turn ON windows firewall
    2. Download the right ZA (small download)
    3. Install ZA with an active internet connection. It is needed to have ZA configure properly and for ZA to install only the most up to date files needed for your machine.

    You will have no security issues, XP firewall will be perfectly fine covering the inbound unsolicted calls. Just don't do anything else then installing ZA (ZA will take care to disable XP firewall after the installation), check that everything works as it should and only then re-activate AVAST

    Done.

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; October 31st, 2012 at 07:07 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Question Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Probably some files are locked by the system or you have registry issues. May be also AVAST is preventing ZA to work correctly.

    You may want, once you removed again ZA to run the ZA removal tool you find here:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...load/clean.exe

    Then look manually on the system for "checkpoint" folders. There is one in programs file and another in the hidden XP folder <DRIVE>:\Documents and Settings\<user account name>\Application Data

    Turn on windows xp firewall

    Re-download a fresh copy of the free ZA directly from the ZA site.

    Disable avast fully, to be sure it's not the origin of the problem.

    Install ZA. Any better?

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Tried all you advised but no joy

    Really cant run with Avast protections off so I have given up and uninstalled Zone alarm (after using it for 15 years) and just running with XP firewall on and everything is working OK no problem

    Sorry guys but it just wont work

    pete


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: ZA stops me doing anything says Initialising

    Ok, thank you anyway to have taken the time to report it back here. Much appreciated.

    I am closing the thread as the issue does not apply to you anymore (removed ZA).

    Of course, do no hesitate to open a new thread for any other ZA related issues.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZA Extreme Security v9.1 UI not initialising
    By PJDrunken in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 28th, 2010, 04:53 AM
  2. UI initialising
    By suewh in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 24th, 2010, 04:50 AM
  3. Slow initialising
    By monco in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 1st, 2008, 02:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •