Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: ZA blocking Firefox

  1. #1
    traycerb Guest

    Default ZA blocking Firefox

    Have an issue ZA Free Firewall ver. 11.0.000.020 all-of-a-sudden is now selectively blocking Firefox 16.0.2, despite settings indicating it shouldn't. (This is not similar to the other FF and ZA problem http://www.zonealarm.com/forums/show...hlight=firefox , as I always disable the ZA firefox plugin anyway)

    The problem is ZA is selectively blocking FF access to internet (IE works fine, can ping, etc) despite the ZA settings saying not to:



    It used to work fine, but when this happened, I went and manually changed the firefox permissions to full, and still have the problem. I've tried both re-enabling and disabling the ZA plugin and still have the problem. An excerpt of the log confirms the block:

    Code:
    ZoneAlarm Logging Client v11.0.000.020
    Windows 7 x64-6.1.7601-Service Pack 1-SMP
    type,date,time,source,destination,transport (Security)
    type,date,time,virus name,file name,mode,e-mail id (Anti-Virus)
    type,date,time,source,destination,action,service (IM Security)
    type,date,time,source,destination,program,action (Malicious Code Protection)
    type,date,time,action,product,file,event,subevent,class,data,data,... (OSFirewall)
    type,date,time,name,type,mode (Anti-Spyware)
    ACCESS,2012/12/17,19:05:58 -8:00 GMT,Firefox was blocked from connecting to the local zone (127.0.0.1:Port 49372).,N/A,N/A
    ACCESS,2012/12/17,19:10:42 -8:00 GMT,Firefox was blocked from connecting to the Internet (74.125.224.164:HTTP).,N/A,N/A
    ACCESS,2012/12/17,19:11:12 -8:00 GMT,Firefox was blocked from connecting to the Internet (74.125.224.208:HTTPS).,N/A,N/A
    In addition, I've tried: deleting the FF entry in ZA program access control list, rebooting, and ultimately re-installing ZA. Reinstalling worked briefly, but then the problem recurred. Any ideas what's going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: ZA blocking Firefox

    As far as I can see the firefox settings are set to Custom. This means that even after re-install you have made some changes to the default. Did you? Go to ZA Tools --> Preferences --> Reset to default --> Reboot the PC.

    Does it work now? Is firefox set to AUTO (default)? What exactly is the customization that you do apply? Internet/Trusted zone changes? Other changes?

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZA Pro blocking Firefox 6
    By geoh777 in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 17th, 2011, 04:28 PM
  2. Zone Alarm Blocking Internet Explorer 7 and Firefox 3
    By wrhindy in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 9th, 2008, 07:46 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 7th, 2007, 04:51 AM
  4. Duplication between noscript ad on in Firefox & ZA Pro's script blocking
    By escalader in forum Anti-spam & Parental Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 15th, 2006, 09:06 AM
  5. Firefox blocking
    By takayama in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 11th, 2006, 03:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •