Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Access attempt counter in 0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Access attempt counter in 0

    Ten days ago I've installed Free Firewall version 11.0.000.058. Until now, the access attempt counter is in 0. Because I think that isn't possible I ask for help. OS: Windows 8 Professional x64 - Micro: Intel I5-AV: Bitdefender. All settings are in their defaults. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    Hi!

    Actually it can be perfectly normal, not just 10 day but months
    Just list all what you have in the ZA firewall zones to hint to the solution. For example, if you see addresses like 192.168.X.X. or 10.0.X.X or 172.16.X.X.

    There are at least a couple of more explanation why you see 0, but lets start from the most common one.

    By the way, the last known version of ZA is ZA 11.0.000.057. If you have anything above either you live in the future or using a fake ZA.

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; February 3rd, 2013 at 07:33 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,650

    Default Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlos View Post
    Ten days ago I've installed Free Firewall version 11.0.000.058. Until now, the access attempt counter is in 0. Because I think that isn't possible I ask for help. OS: Windows 8 Professional x64 - Micro: Intel I5-AV: Bitdefender. All settings are in their defaults. Thanks in advance.
    You could try the following if your behind a NAT router.Run a port scan at GRC ShieldsUP.

    Since your NAT router is the first line of defense for incoming traffic.You should check your router's logs.You'll see ShieldsUP access attempts blocked in those logs and not in ZoneAlarm.

    The logs can be accessed from your router’s management interface which can be accessed through the web browser.

    If not behind NAT router.Then it will show in ZoneAlarm.

    Have a nice Day

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10

    Wink Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    Ok Fax. I made a mistake. The ZA versión is 11.000.0.054. Thank you. Thanks GURU.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    You're welcome!

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    Anyway, the firewall log viewer counter has counted 32 outgoing blocked and the OSfirewall has blocked 40 host process for Windows. Access attempt counter is always in 0.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,650

    Default Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlos View Post
    All settings are in their defaults.
    I would suggest to backup your settings before trying this.

    Tools > Logs > Alerts & Logs panel.In Main set Alert Events Shown to High, Event Logging to On, Program Logging to High.

    In Alert Events click Tab > Check All.Then OK to Safe settings.Reboot now.

    It should start to record only Incoming access attempts blocked.If you want to change counter back to 0.In Log Control click tab Reset Counters & reboot to reset to 0.

    Note : You will have to deal with Alert pop-ups using those settings.

    Have a nice Day
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; February 10th, 2013 at 07:51 PM. Reason: Typo, added alert popups

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlos View Post
    Anyway, the firewall log viewer counter has counted 32 outgoing blocked and the OSfirewall has blocked 40 host process for Windows. Access attempt counter is always in 0.
    Sounds good , firewall logs are different from OSfirewall logs. The counter only refers to inbound unsolicited connections. Unclear what is that 40 host process blocked. Posting the exact wording in logs may help other users here to interpret the logs.
    Last edited by fax; February 11th, 2013 at 05:15 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,650

    Default Re: Access attempt counter in 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlos View Post
    Access attempt counter is always in 0.

    If you try the suggested settings : https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...341#post296341

    Look under Log Control > View Log

    Some ZALog.txt entries you should be concern with :

    FWIN: indicates that the firewall blocked an inbound packet of data coming to your
    computer. Some, but not all, of these packets are connection attempts.This are the
    entries that will show the number of access attempts blocked with those setting.

    FWOUT: indicates that the firewall blocked an outbound packet of data from leaving
    your computer.This will not show in the Counter, just in the Log Viewer & ZALog.txt.

    Just an example.GUI shows 6 access attemps blocked here :

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...0-000-054-quot

    Have a nice Day
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; February 12th, 2013 at 08:37 AM. Reason: typo, rephrase

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Web Security counter
    By Sky Soldiers in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 4th, 2013, 10:48 AM
  2. Stuck with no access to program after failed attempt to update
    By kshsmom in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 4th, 2008, 07:10 AM
  3. Installation failure - no internet access following attempt
    By spikie in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 14th, 2008, 09:27 AM
  4. Firewall has blocked 1 access attempt???
    By samurai in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 9th, 2006, 02:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •