Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Maxima computer algebra system

  1. #1
    wognath Guest

    Default Maxima computer algebra system

    Hello,
    I recently installed zone alarm and I find that my most-used program, the Maxima CAS, won't run. wxMaxima reports it cannot connect to maxima. Removing ZA toolbar, turning firewall off and exiting firewall all did not work.
    I also tried this, from http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/maxima/Maxima_FAQ
    Maxima GUI programs talk to the computational engine through a socket. Antivirus and/or firewall programs see that and try to block it ... Solution: Try to find the control panel for the antivirus and/or firewall. Find the Maxima GUI on the list of blocked programs and disable blocking for it.
    I added wxmaxima, xmaxima and maxima exe files as completely allowed processes, with no luck

    I have had to uninstall ZA, temporarily, I hope. Has anyone had success running Maxima with ZA? I'll appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

    XP home, sp3 on Lenovo S12 netbook, AVG free ZA free obtained 2/7/13
    Last edited by wognath; February 7th, 2013 at 02:36 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,648

    Default Re: Maxima computer algebra system

    Quote Originally Posted by wognath View Post
    Hello,
    I recently installed zone alarm and I find that my most-used program, the Maxima CAS, won't run. wxMaxima reports it cannot connect to maxima. Removing ZA toolbar, turning firewall off and exiting firewall all did not work.
    I also tried this, from http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/maxima/Maxima_FAQ
    I added wxmaxima, xmaxima and maxima exe files as completely allowed processes, with no luck

    I have had to uninstall ZA, temporarily, I hope. Has anyone had success running Maxima with ZA? I'll appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

    XP home, sp3 on Lenovo S12 netbook, AVG free ZA free obtained 2/7/13
    I don't use the free ZoneAlarm.So not familiar with it's limitations.Maybe this might help.

    ZoneAlarm is blocking my application but I get no alerts :

    http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc/...20&action=view

    I am having problems with an application when it tries to access the network, or when users try and connect from the network.

    http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc/...26&action=view

    Have no other suggestions to address your issue.

    You didn't post what free version using.This is current.Update to current version :

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...318#post296318

    Have a nice Day

  3. #3
    wognath Guest

    Default Re: Maxima computer algebra system

    That was fast, thank you. I have tried the suggestions you linked to, with no luck. I'll post in the Maxima forum and report back here if a solution is found.
    I am using ZA 11.0.000.057
    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Maxima computer algebra system

    Quote Originally Posted by wognath View Post
    Hello,
    I recently installed zone alarm and I find that my most-used program, the Maxima CAS, won't run. wxMaxima reports it cannot connect to maxima. Removing ZA toolbar, turning firewall off and exiting firewall all did not work.
    I also tried this, from http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/maxima/Maxima_FAQ
    I added wxmaxima, xmaxima and maxima exe files as completely allowed processes, with no luck

    I have had to uninstall ZA, temporarily, I hope. Has anyone had success running Maxima with ZA? I'll appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

    XP home, sp3 on Lenovo S12 netbook, AVG free ZA free obtained 2/7/13
    Hello wognath;

    I agree with Sky Soldiers;

    The More information you post the more likely users here will be able to understand the issue and try to help

    1.) did you install the Basic ZA Free Firewall, or ZA Free Firewall + AV ?

    2.) the ZA Free Firewall + AV will conflict with your AVG Free..
    We need more information about your Lenovo S12 netbook,

    does it meet the bare minimum System Requirements for Zone Alarm Free?

    Microsoft Windows, XP SP2 or
    SP3 (SP3 Recomended) Home / Professional



    • 32-bit, 1GB RAM
    • 1 GHz or faster processor
    • 250MB of available hard-disk space


    3.) let us know if you find a solution from th Maxima forum..

    Last edited by GeorgeV; February 9th, 2013 at 05:02 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Maxima 5.22 Wont work wilth Zone Alarm Free Toolbar
    By sdwizard in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 16th, 2011, 02:04 PM
  2. Maxima 5.22 Wont work wilth Zone Alarm
    By johnnyforum in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 9th, 2010, 06:00 PM
  3. Install crashes computer completely, forced to system restore
    By pengam in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 17th, 2009, 01:52 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 13th, 2008, 09:06 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 16th, 2007, 04:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •