Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    12

    Wink Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    New version released and installed. Same issue. Will post when I have a solution. regards

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    Quote Originally Posted by talljames View Post
    New version released and installed. Same issue. Will post when I have a solution. regards
    Hello;

    I am not sure that you have read or followed any of the Suggestions that Guru Fax has offered you..

    A.) before you installed the new ZA Extreme 11.0.000.504, did you do a clean install, or just installed over the corrupted older install?

    B.) Try this safe clean up procedure..

    Follow these instructions Below to clean your computer of the old version and any conflicting 3rd party Security programs, then install a clean new copy of the current supported version of ZA 11.0.000.504





    The instruction for a clean install are below




    1. Download the latest version http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc/...10&action=view
    <== click here

    2. Remove your current ZA version (in XP use Windows add/remove programs)

    3. Remove other security tools installed. Use http://www.appremover.com/ to double check no left overs are present.

    4. Clean your system and registry with the Free Ccleaner.exe
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/slim <= click here

    5. Download to your desktop and run the ZA removal tool, <= click here
    now reboot computer after running ZA Removal tool.

    6. Now Install the latest ZA version without touching any default settings,
    and Do Not Restore Saved Settings from the old install.


    Let us know how you have managed to resolve the issue. It will help other users with the same problem.
    Last edited by GeorgeV; April 30th, 2013 at 09:36 AM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Smile Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    Simple question : are you able to scan the PC by booting in SAFE MODE WITH NETWORKING? You need to run ZA manually as it will not run on boot if in safe mode.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    12

    Smile Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    Yes, I did read and understand the steps correctly as noted above. However, I have done the whole procedure again (all the steps you mentioned).

    As mentioned previously, I can start the virus scan and stop it with no problem. It is when it starts automatically when it gets stuck. Anyways, the new ZA is installed and it has just run the auto update. I will wait until it runs the auto scan and see what happens when I select to "view scan".

    Will post back in a few days.

    regards

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    12

    Smile Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    ps. Yes, I can start and stop the scan in safe mode and in normal mode. As mentioned will post back in a few days.

    regards
    talljames

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    12

    Smile Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    That seems to have fixed it this time. I will give it one more week and then post my findings. regards talljames

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    12

    Unhappy Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    The auto scan feature kicked in today for the first time I have seen it since all the steps and new version. Unfortunately, the steps suggested did not fixed the issue. I opened the View Scan option and it has been running for 2:34:00 and the files scanned is reading zero.

    The only way to stop the scan is to close down (exit) the program and restart it.

    The only other information I have is that I am running a thinkpad and I close the lid to place it in sleep mode.

    So no fix yet.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    Well as said many times here, no use to post the history of your trouble here. Ensure you keep in touch with official support. We can't resolve your issue here.

    I will close this thread soon, only ask for reopen it once you have found a definitive fix

    Thanks,

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    It could possibly be a UI bug. The same that was reported here

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...-files-scanned

    note the last posting by the moderator.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: [SOLVED] ZoneAlarm Extreme - clocks on with zero files scanned.

    Quote Originally Posted by talljames View Post
    It could possibly be a UI bug. The same that was reported here

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...-files-scanned

    note the last posting by the moderator.
    Please Note: the date on the Moderators Post that you Quoted!

    There is no comparison Between ZA 9.1 in a Post 4 1/2 years old and ZA ver. 11

    Sorry, you are comparing Apples with Oranges..

    The UI issue that you Quoted from (11/13/2009), is Related to a Very old Zone Alarm Security Suite version:9.1.008.000 posted by the Moderator Nov. 13, 2009, there is no way that the same UI issue could still exist 4 years later in ZA ver. 11 that has been re-designed with a different UI in it ...

    Please Follow the Repeated Advise given by Guru Fax..

    I will Close this Thread (as Guru Fax had intended) to prevent Further Confusion to other Users here..

    You may "PM" me if you resolve your issue by following the previous given advice...
    Last edited by GeorgeV; May 14th, 2013 at 04:49 AM. Reason: fix typos
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Files under 20 or so kb show up as not scanned "0 files scanned"
    By Cyber 14 in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 14th, 2010, 02:27 PM
  2. On-demand scan shows zero files scanned
    By critterjoe in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 13th, 2009, 10:06 AM
  3. Virus scan has been running for 12 hours now, and only scanned 150K files
    By txlegalpro in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 7th, 2008, 11:21 AM
  4. Anti-Virus Not showing files scanned
    By collie in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 5th, 2008, 07:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •