Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: sabnzbd cannot run with ZA installed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default sabnzbd cannot run with ZA installed

    when i try to use the zonealarm firewall he blocks sabnzbd right away.
    is there a way to fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    Can you clarify the exact version of ZA used (right click the ZA icon near the clock, about, copy to clipboard, paste it here) ?. Also provide the message of ZA blocking that page or better any screenshot about it. Please detail your OS version and other security tools installed.

    More information your post more likely other users here maybe able to help.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    atm i have an 64bits windows 7 pc.
    i dont have zonealarm atm because it blocks sabnzbd.
    i use comodo firewall instead wich i rather not be using though.
    also i using avast antivirus.
    i always using the latets version.
    because i update programs almost everyday.
    so also zonealarm.

    the message i gets: it just said it isnt able to connect a port..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    Sorry all users here, if you happen to install ZA again please detail exactly the error with screenshot, logs and as many information as possible to understand the problem.

    Please note that ZA se does not provide for irreversible blacklisting of websites or programs and there are settings that can be changed. If instead you speak about a program needing open ports or special settings then you may also double check with the producers of the software to know if they are aware of issue with ZA. They may know already a workaround or take contact with development to troubleshoot the problem.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    ive already contact them but they say the problam lays at zonealarm

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    Sorry can't say more as I could not really understand what the blacklist problem is. There is only one control by the forcefield on known spyware/malware/phishing sites. And this can be anyway override

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    ok ive just installed zonealarm back again.
    And again sabnzbd refuses to open.
    it only gives me this window: bWrsSX1.png
    though i cannot find this log in that folder.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    Ah! OK... now I understand. So, sabnzbd crashes when you attempt to run it. There is no log been created by the sabnzbd program. I guess when you shutdown ZA then it works. Correct?

    Well, I would try to slowly turn off section of ZA to see which is the culprit of the conflict (identity/application control/antivirus).

    ZA support does not read this thread but it may be useful (in case they browse here anytime) to report how to exactly replicate the issue.

    Install version X of sabnz.. that can be found here
    Install version Y of ZA...
    Keep ZA at default settings (?)
    Run sabnz
    etc...

    I will revise the theard title to better reflect the problem.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: zonealarm adds sabnzbd to blacklist

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    I will revise the theard title to better reflect the problem.
    any advice?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,288

    Default Re: sabnzbd cannot run with ZA installed

    Well, as suggested above try to turn OFF gradually the various ZA functions to see which one is the culprit. This way you may find a specific feature in ZA that you can turn OFF to be able to run sabnxbd (what a weird product name.... can they find a easier name to spell!!!! ), instead of removing it.

    This is the only thing I can suggested as we are all users here and ZA development does not monitor this board.

    Alternatively, you can try the latest ZA beta (www.zonealarm.com/beta), run ZA, turn on all diagnostics, replicate the issue, report the issue via the beta feedback page and upload logs. The feedback will reach directly the ZA development team.

    Also note that if this a nich product, used by few, then it may be low in the priorities for fix.

    Thanks!
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 6th, 2011, 05:59 AM
  2. Where is ZA installed?
    By cometbaby in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2011, 08:05 PM
  3. ZA 9.0.83.000 installed ... at last !
    By guizop in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 19th, 2009, 09:56 AM
  4. Anyone installed ZA Pro 9.0.083.000?
    By za_avastfan in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: September 9th, 2009, 07:13 AM
  5. ZA keeps saying new HW or SW installed - but nothing has been installed
    By lyndahamlin in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 30th, 2008, 06:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •