Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: vsmon.exe problem again

  1. #1
    MartyJames Guest

    Default vsmon.exe problem again

    I recently upgraded to ZoneAlarm Security Suite version: 11.0.768.000 on a workstation and laptop. Right now on my workstation, vsmon.exe is using 352K of memory and stays in that range all the time. Prior to the upgrade on both computers it was maybe 10% of where it is now. Problems are slow response to the point of not being able to do anything else at times.

    The responses I've seen to other user with similar problems - it's normal, live with it or use something else. Maybe one of these people can tell me why it used to be 35K and now it is 350K. Can I go back to the previous version or is there a problem with the new version?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: vsmon.exe problem again

    Do you see any particular negative effect on the system? Programs do not open or you need to wait a lot before they run or slow web browsing, etc.?

    Its not unusual to have Vsmon around 200-300MB, this is by design and it is the antivirus component in it that does that. Preference is given to RAM usage rather than HD usage to help speed. Normally picks will be reached when updating the antivirus or with network activity (vsmon is also the firewall filter). It has been like this since many releases and all the and 11 line.

    No, not good to go back to old version, they are not supported and may contain undisclosed vulnerability affecting your security.

    But may be you experience a specific issue other than the RAM per se?

    Please clarify.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; August 28th, 2013 at 09:48 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: vsmon.exe problem again

    Grab a program called TCPView by Sysinternals from Microsoft. You can watch vsmon doing it's job if you have web scan enabled when you connect to anything on the internet.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. a slightly different vsmon problem
    By prom in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 17th, 2008, 09:05 AM
  2. Vsmon.exe Problem
    By morey in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2007, 01:05 PM
  3. vsmon.exe problem
    By slopjocky in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 12th, 2006, 02:27 AM
  4. The old VSMON eating up RAM problem
    By bertee in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 12th, 2006, 07:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •