Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Greetings,
    I have downloaded and clean installed 11.0.780.000 4 times to two Vista 64 machines, but every install won't work and the firewall is red calling for license renewal. The downloads have come from ZA, Cnet, filehippo - all of which provided previous working installations.

    What is wrong? (yes, the BIOS dates are correct...)

    Souler

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Most probably ZA installer or clean.exe have not sufficient privilegies to perform the task of cleaning previous installations. i.e. cannot remove the folders. Thats the only explanations I can think on why you keep getting this warning.

    First, never use other installers than the ones found in ZA servers. Full installer here:
    Looking for the latest version?

    Alsway use the updated version of the clean.exe that changes at almost every new ZA release: http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...load/clean.exe

    Always run clean.exe AFTER you have removed ZA with the standard uninstall procedure.

    If you have issues with privilegies you will still find ZA folders in the HD. Look for "checkpoint" folders in Program files folder and in application data folder. The latter is hidden and you need to make it show in the OS.

    Finally, better to solve access issue before reinstalling ZA as you will experience severe usability problems if ZA cannot access your HD.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Thanks Guru. Did all that once. Will repeat.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Hi Guru,

    I am having the same problem. I used to have version 11.0.768.000 working perfectly with no issue for two or three weeks until ZA disconnected me from internet access so I uninstalled it and reinstalled. After the new installation it is telling me that my license has expired. I tried the steps you mentioned and used the clean.exe with administrator rights a number of times and confirmed the CheckPoint folder disappeared and then reinstalled it again. However problem resists.

    I have an ssd that has my OS and Programs and a Harddisk for data and I am thinking (NOT SURE) the problem started when I formatted the data hdd.

    Please find attached screen shots.

    Thanks

    ZA.JPG

    ZA2.JPG

    ZA3.JPG

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Most probably the issue is linked to your particular setup. I am afraid there is nothing we can suggest on top of what you already done.

    Sorry,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Hi again,

    Please have a look at this attachment as it may give you a hint of what is going on.

    I found tens of these temp files filling the C drive and I deleted all of them manually, as the uninstallation and the clean tool did not remove them, before installing ZA again. However, after installation is complete they came back as you can see in the attachment.

    Thanks

    ZA4.JPG

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Is the ZA that keeps crashing... reasons behind this crash can be many. But again it does not help to solve your problem. Sorry, Fax.

    - Exact version of ZA installed and where? Default? C://
    - Exact version of OS used?
    - Laptop?
    - What is running at boot other than ZA and Microsoft staff?
    - Other security tools?
    - Other proprietary software from the PC/Laptop?

    Anything changed/updated recently?

    ZA has issue accessing your HD... reasons for this? No idea...

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Hi Fax,

    I will answer your questions just in case you may find something

    - Exact version of ZA installed and where? Default? C://
    The issue started with version
    11.0.768.000 and now I am trying 11.0.780.000 with no difference.

    I never change the program default C:\Program Files (x86)\CheckPoint\

    However, I also tried to install it on D drive but had same issue.

    - Exact version of OS used?
    Windows 7 Pro sp1

    - Laptop? Nope

    - What is running at boot other than ZA and Microsoft staff?
    Realtek audio manager, AVG Free antivirus, intel rapid storage technology

    - Other security tools?
    AVG anti virus

    - Other proprietary software from the PC/Laptop?
    just the mentioned above


    Anything changed/updated recently?
    I formatted the D drive with has my data and libraries (Documents, Pictures...etc).

    any ideas are greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,470

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    Quote Originally Posted by Ahmado View Post
    Hi Fax,

    I will answer your questions just in case you may find something

    - Exact version of ZA installed and where? Default? C://
    The issue started with version
    11.0.768.000 and now I am trying 11.0.780.000 with no difference.


    any ideas are greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    Hello;

    Another bit of info you left out>

    What Type of Zone Alarm installed?
    Free, Free + AV, Pro, Pro + AV, Security Suite, Za Extreme Security?

    Right Click the ZA icon near the clock, about, copy to clipboard, paste it in a new message.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: New ZA install calls for license renewal - is non-functional

    I was using the free version (where issue started) and I just installed the 30 day trial of this version which also has the same issue.

    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 11.0.780.000
    ZoneAlarm license key: ******************
    Never Post a License Key in a Public Forum..
    Thanks
    Last edited by GeorgeV; October 21st, 2013 at 03:54 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Renewal License
    By Oct714 in forum Off-Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 5th, 2013, 05:03 AM
  2. License renewal
    By toskager in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 29th, 2010, 06:16 AM
  3. License Renewal
    By squeek in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 25th, 2008, 10:53 PM
  4. 3 License Renewal??
    By behdudhenejdjd in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 22nd, 2008, 03:43 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 18th, 2007, 06:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •