Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: unable to load on startup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default unable to load on startup

    zonealarm free firewall 12.0.104.000, windows 8.1, avast free antivirus.
    I'm unable to change setting of zone alarm and it doesn't start at startup, if in options I check load on startup it says error and it's unable to setting.
    Pic of italian version:
    aizz.jpg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: unable to load on startup

    Disable AVAST and check if ZA can load correctly. AVAST has introduced a bug that may not allow ZA to work correctly

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...-free-firewall

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: unable to load on startup

    I disable avast but nothing unable again to set load at startup or the options about proxity setting.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: unable to load on startup

    Hi!

    to troubleshoot, you will need to:

    1.) Fully remove AVAST, reboot the PC
    2.) Remove ZAfree from windows 8.1 --> control panel --> Uninstall a program
    3.) Reboot
    4.) Run the ZA removal tool that you find here: http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...load/clean.exe
    5.) Reboot
    6.) Ensure that the user account you are logged in has administrator permissions to the PC, double check windows 8 firewall is turned ON (ZA will take care to turn it off).
    7.) Double check in "program file" and "program data" folder the checkpoint folder is removed. If not. remove it manually. Please note that program data folder is hidden and you will need to make it show from windows 8.1 "view".
    8.) Now try to install ZA again

    Finally check if ZA works correctly and only after install AVAST.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; October 31st, 2013 at 06:03 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: unable to load on startup [solved]

    solved:
    I unistall avast and reboot the pc, after all work fine. It's another avast bug with za.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: unable to load on startup

    now I set ZA (work fine), after I reinstall avast and now it's impossible to modify the ZA settings. I write on Avast forum for report this bug.
    thank you

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: unable to load on startup

    Yes, as reported in the other thread AVAST version 9 has introduced a bug with ZA 12 and previous version of ZA (11).

    See also here: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=137016.0

    As ZA is a competitor of AVAST I suspect the fix is low priority or at least from the AVAST forum there seems no signal of fixing it any time soon. I guess more complaints they will receive more likely they will look at it sooner than later. I recommend to add your problem to that thread.

    My only other suggestion is to move to ZAfree+AV up to when AVAST recognise and fix the problem.

    Sorry,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can't load ZA 7.0 at startup - just upgraded and still can't
    By sportsfan in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 29th, 2007, 08:19 AM
  2. Load at startup
    By tenken in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 15th, 2006, 01:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •