Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Zone Alarm Home Page

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Zone Alarm Home Page

    I have Zone Alarm set as home page on start up is the message below legit one from Check Point.?[~snip~
    Last edited by GeorgeV; November 27th, 2013 at 12:39 PM. Reason: Removed Possible Malware Attachment..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,648

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    I would suggest the following.

    Check hosts file.Open with notepad if it has being changed.You can do web search for default hosts file setting.

    Malware Clean-up Guidance:

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...an-up-Guidance

    Out of suggestions here unless other users chime in for solution.
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; November 27th, 2013 at 11:21 AM. Reason: typo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    It's not ZA, you probably have some spyware or adware that got installed.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    That pop-up is definitely NOT legit. Besides the advice Sky soldiers gave, I recommend an anti-adware sweep with adwcleaner. Download from here.
    The site is german but you should have no problems to get the right link.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,648

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    Quote Originally Posted by Darklord666 View Post
    I recommend an anti-adware sweep with adwcleaner.
    If you do take Darklord suggestion.Under Folders & Registry make sure to uncheck ZoneAlarm Toolbar in both.

    Note: Just need to take a close look what your about to delete.Almost forgot.It will also take out " Do Not Track ".I look for it, but could not be identified.

    So stick with Malware Clean-up Guidance

    Did Restore Point to get Do Not Track to work once again.Using Win 7/64 here.

    You didn't mention OS in use.Just a reminder that System Restoe will break ZoneAlarm in XP.

    I always make Restore Point & full disk image to external drive before using this type of programs.
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; November 27th, 2013 at 03:02 PM. Reason: Note, forgot DNT

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    Thanks for the info guys .I have 7 Home Premium.Tried all solutions suggested as yet no luck.Have gained some more info from a mate will try that and report back.
    Forgot to mention ZA Privacy Service has stopped working on occasions this last few days not sure on that also.
    Last edited by Dink; November 28th, 2013 at 05:15 AM. Reason: Additition

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,648

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    Quote Originally Posted by Dink View Post
    Forgot to mention ZA Privacy Service has stopped working on occasions this last few days not sure on that also.
    More information you post more likely users may get a better handle to chime in to address your issue.

    Don't forget to Right click the ZA icon near the clock > about > Copy to clipboard > Paste it in your reply.

    If using paid product with valid license.Contact support:

    http://www.zonealarm.com/security/en...ce-support.htm

    Note: If all the above fails.Seek help at Bleeping Computer malware removal forum.

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/foru...questing-help/

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving to all Forum users.

    Hopefully be back in a few months.

    Charles

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    Hello;

    The More information you post the more likely users here will be able to understand the issue and try to help.

    **What Version # of ZA do you have installed installed (right click the ZA icon near the clock --> about --> copy to clipboard --> paste it here in a reply)?? (Remove License Key if present )

    Please Give the Exact Type and version of Zone Alarm used, Windows Version & SP Update used, Browser type and version, any other security tools installed and type of router or Internet connection used
    .

    Have you followed ALL of the instructions on Malware Clean-up Guidance:

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...an-up-Guidance
    Last edited by GeorgeV; November 28th, 2013 at 05:53 AM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Home Page

    This Zone Alarm Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with Zone Alarm and need to be guided in the right direction to answer Questions about Zone Alarm..


    in Answer to your repeated Quarry, Here is a Quote from the Forum Moderator.

    Until you follow the directions given support won't be able to help you.

    You never confirmed to the Guru that you followed his directions, just questions after question and no confirmation.

    If you come for Help then follow their directions Please...

    Forum Moderator
    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...3-BSOD-Win7x32
    Last edited by GeorgeV; November 30th, 2013 at 05:48 AM. Reason: fix typos
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. zone alarm keeps refreshing my page too much?
    By loritexas in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 8th, 2010, 04:51 PM
  2. Zone Alarm Prevents New My Yahoo Home Page from loading without errors
    By jbouknight in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 3rd, 2009, 04:32 AM
  3. Zone Alarm Internet Security Suite and IE7 home page problem
    By richu in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 4th, 2007, 11:45 PM
  4. zone alarm is blocking ebay page saying not authorized to view page.
    By ozengines in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 19th, 2006, 02:12 AM
  5. cannot change home page in internet explorer with zone alarm 6.5 installed.
    By philbee in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 16th, 2006, 06:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •