Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Exclusion Settings get wiped after upgrade.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1

    Angry Exclusion Settings get wiped after upgrade.

    This is a note for people who put in exclusion settings, the behaviour is silent (i.e. you wouldn't know this is happening unless you go into exclusion settings).

    I suggest this thread remains here so people know about this issue. Should be a sticky IMHO.

    Install last version of ZoneAlarm.
    Goto Antivirus -> Anti Spyware -> Advanced Settings -> Exceptions.
    Add various exceptions and click Ok.
    Update to later version
    Goto Antivirus -> Anti Spyware -> Advanced Settings -> Exceptions.

    EXPECTED

    Settings retained

    ACTUAL

    Setting wiped.

    TESTING BACKGROUND.

    Tested on Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 8 64 bit operating systems. 4 installations in total. Fully reproducable

    Has been reported to ZoneAlarm months back. Very old legacy issue.
    ~~snip~~
    Last edited by Forum-Moderator; December 16th, 2013 at 11:10 AM. Reason: not a bug as suggested by user

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Exclusion Settings get wiped after upgrade.

    Sorry all user here, so there is no use to post this bug here as we have no means to fix it.
    If you have already reported to support then you have already done what your could.

    Its important that other users also reports this (if they experience it) directly to ZA offficial support. More reports they receive more likely the issue is escalated to development team earlier than later.

    Sorry, but some off topic remarks needed to go.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by Forum-Moderator; December 16th, 2013 at 11:10 AM. Reason: update title

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,641

    Default Exclusion Settings get wiped after upgrade.

    Sorry this is NOT considered a bug.

    Its is how AV was designed to work specifically.

    Due to the way Kaspersky designed our AV the Exceptions list cannot be backed up in the setting unfortunately.

    We've spoken to Kaspersky years ago when this was first seen and they told us its by design and it will not be considered a bug.
    Last edited by Forum-Moderator; December 16th, 2013 at 11:34 AM.
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 6th, 2009, 10:52 AM
  2. Wiped out Zones?
    By oobe in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 19th, 2009, 12:47 AM
  3. I'd like to restore my Zones list, as it got wiped out in a ZA upgrade.
    By billdennes in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 29th, 2008, 05:28 AM
  4. ZA settings wiped after Clone/entire disk copy
    By turbomike in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 27th, 2008, 04:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •