Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ZAPrivacyService.exe Locks-out Computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2

    Question ZAPrivacyService.exe Locks-out Computer

    After booting and running OK for a while (about several minutes to no more than an hour) access to the PC via the keyboard is no longer possible. No icons on the desktop or the status bar can be activated. With no user processes active, the only active processes in the task manger list are ZAPrivacyService.exe and the System Idle Process. The HDD is active with the indicator light on solidly. The effect is one of being locked-out.

    Is this a known problem? If so, I cannot find it by a search of the knowledge-base or these forums. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Stripeman

    ZA Extreme Security Suite Configuration:

    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 12.0.104.000
    ZoneAlarm license key: ************* NEVER POST LICENSE KEY IN PUBLIC FORUM
    Vsmon version: 12.0.104.000
    Driver version: 12.0.104.000
    Antivirus engine version: 8.3.2.4
    Antivirus signature DAT file version: 1134193504
    AntiSpam version: 6.3.1.4971
    Last edited by GeorgeV; December 26th, 2013 at 03:49 PM. Reason: Removed posted License Key

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,807

    Default Re: ZAPrivacyService.exe Locks-out Computer

    Hello;

    ZAPrivacyService.exe is related to the Site Check feature in our browser security toolbar.

    If having the toolbar in your browser is something you can live without then try uninstall ZA.

    Then re-install and opt out of the toolbar when prompted during install.

    That should help.

    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: ZAPrivacyService.exe Locks-out Computer

    Hello George,

    Thanks for the reply ....

    When this updated version of ZAES was installed, the option for the tool bar was accepted, but subsequently it was disabled. Perhaps that led to the issue, and if it did I'm surprised. I will go ahead and uninstall/reinstall and see what happens.

    Regarding the key .... the Copy-to-Clipboard in Help included it, which I thought was strange. But then I figured it was wanted, so it was left in the copy 'n' paste result. Mia culpa, as now I do understand!

    Thanks again,
    Stripeman

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,807

    Default Re: ZAPrivacyService.exe Locks-out Computer

    Your Welcome...
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZASS 7.0.x locks computer
    By joem in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 28th, 2008, 08:36 AM
  2. ZoneAlarm freezes my computer and locks me out???
    By smaller in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 18th, 2008, 05:17 PM
  3. ZoneAlarm locks my computer
    By zeno in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 21st, 2007, 02:17 PM
  4. ZA sometimes uses 100% of my CPU, locks up computer..........
    By hatethis in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 9th, 2007, 03:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •